Getting Fishy in Utah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah
January 28th 2005
Published: January 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Utah State UniversityUtah State UniversityUtah State University

For a brief moment we could see a patch of blue sky today, but I didn't have my camera out.
Logan is a very nice city, but I think Pam misses Knoxville. She wants to paint her living room orange.
Last night we had a garbage disposal mishap, but with cunning and teamwork, Pam and I were able to overcome it. Things started going wrong for Pam early in the day, and when she returned home from work, she brought her bad luck with her. She broiled some salmon for us, but when she poured vinegar over the hot salmon, a fierce pungent fishy-vinegar gas filled the kitchen and stung our eyes. Pam had a really difficult time, she had to leave dinner to flush her eyes out with eye drops. We opened the windows in the kitchen and the front door, despite the freezing temperatures, but Pam still had to leave to get out of the vicious vinegar air. She didn’t even finish her fish!
I made myself cry and continued to eat. (Not because I was hungry, but because I'm a better person than she is.) I started doing dishes, but her garbage disposal didn’t work very well and I ended up clogging both sides of the sink. Pam offered to stay with the baby if I walked to
IciclesIciclesIcicles

They're long and getting longer. These icicles are hanging from a two-story building.
the store for liquid plumber, so I did. My eyes enjoyed being out of the kitchen.
The liquid plumber didn’t work, and Pam and I felt bad for pouring it down the sink, sorry environment. Then Pam had a genius idea: we could buy a plunger! So I watched the baby while she walked to the store for a plunger.
Well, when Pam got back she plunged the sink, but every time she did, the water mess just popped up on the other side of the sink. Then I had a genius idea: I could cover the drain on one side of the sink while Pam plunged! I put on rubber gloves while Pam had another genius idea: Instead of being an idiot and covering the drain hole with my newly gloved hands, I could just hold the stopper down! It’s a good thing we’re both such geniuses. Water is running through the kitchen pipes just fine now, and we smell like fish!
At first I felt sorry for putting the fish down the disposal, but now I’ve figured out a way to blame Pam… It’s Pam’s fault for not finishing that big block of fish that was on her
Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?Are We There Yet?

Katherine walking to the grocery store.
plate. Perfect! I feel so much better.

This morning Katherine and I walked to the grocery store to buy air freshener. We found the grocery store, but couldn’t find air freshener.
We walked home, made some roll-up sandwiches, and then went to the bus station. Pam met us, and we rode to the university. While on the bus, someone spotted a patch of blue sky and pointed it out. Everyone looked and got really excited. Evidently, they haven’t seen it in a while.
Pam introduced us to her coworkers at the library. We didn’t stay for long, but when we came back out of the building, the sky was light gray again.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The LibraryThe Library
The Library

sitting in Pam's office


28th January 2005

Mom
Mom was on the phone with you saying that she and I had a bad day too, but you know what? I had a perfectly fine day, she made that part up. I don't know where she gets these things... - Heather

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb