Zion National Park


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I know that I am back in the country now, but I thought I would still do this for those who don't know how it went, or haven't yet seen any photos.

I'll start with the bus. I don't know what I expected, but it wasn't it. The bus didn’t really have normal seats, it had a few benches at the front, some tables in the middle and a great big platform at the back for lounging on! Immediately it felt much more comfortable for travelling then a normal bus as you could move and relax. We travelled for a few hours before they did the miracle for the first time. 'The miracle' meant the front was turned in to a sleeping platform like the back and the table areas turned in to beds too. Combined with the bunks there was enough room to sleep the 35 of us. Which we then did (well sort of).

First proper stop: Zion.

I had been hoping to hike the narrows, on many recommendations, but due to the water level the trail was closed. So I opted to hike Angels landing trail (recommended by my book, and our tour leader). This meant walking upwards, along a number of switchbacks, in the heat. It then involved more walking, sometimes scrambling up even further along a narrow ridge to a really nice viewpoint. Then of course, after a photo stop, it was back down again.

Once again my photos will do the talking. It was hot and sticky but worth it!

We were supposed to camp at Zion but the campsite was full so travelled to another site nearer to Bryce. We arrived too late to have a camp dinner but had a few beers around a camp fire with our driver singing a few songs for us. I slept out under the stars and it was frigging cold! Thought my nose was going to fall off.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb