ZionLove


Advertisement
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I landed in Zion NP during a mid-friday blitz-rush (and it's not yet the high season). It was baking, high 90's, the NP campground full. But just outside the park, in Springdale is a private campground/rv park where I found a shady spot, the gentle, cool Virgin River, large rocks to lay on and children playing. This is the village/camping paradise I seek. Yes! It got better from there after I noted my cell was in range Plus free wifi, espresso across the way and the propane-fueled free shuttle stop nearby. My mantra was: Can it get any better than this? Yes, apparently...fellow vw van campers--Jim, Brady, Dan (why do they always come in 3's?) in a Westfalia 4X4 Wolsburg edition who wasted no time and invited me to join them out to the only bar in town really--a Karaoke bar. Early on I made some inane comment about how I could sing "My Hump" --if I really had to sing something. They were listening because when blonde, sweet Holly invited the females to join her for that one, well, I simply had no choice! Too much fun, they left too soon. Boston's a world away.

Observation Point trail: don't really know what got into me--I chose the steepest, longest trail in the park--8 miles, 5 hours, 3 up, 2 down... whew, hot and spent. Afterwards the river and so much peace! A place I will return to, I know this.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

campzioncanyoncampzioncanyon
campzioncanyon

virgin river is under tree on rt--sweet!
observationtrailviewobservationtrailview
observationtrailview

not more than a third of the way to the top is this view
my young tattooed friendsmy young tattooed friends
my young tattooed friends

they didn't know each other but had a similar tattoo style (Dan and Eric)


18th May 2007

aloha!
Hi Lisa- this is a great little journal, the pictures are really nice and tell the story well. You must be having a blast! thanks for sharing it-S

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb