Arrived!


Advertisement
Published: May 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Lost Wages



Arrived in Vegas safely last night. I like Jet Blue; usually my knees hit the seat in front on airplanes, but was able to stretch out on this flight. Most happy making.

The red rock, the geology, and the dry warmth all conspired to make for a lovely drive yesterday evening. Highway 15 goes through a pass referred to as 'Purgatory Canyon' on Google maps; I really wanted to be a passenger so I could just look at the scenery. Gorgeous pinky-red rock formations the size of a semi, with wonderful layering. I really want to know why it was called 'Purgatory'; although, I imagine it was absolute hell to get a wagon through! I really wanted to take pictures, but it was two lanes without shoulders. Maybe Dad and I will head to Lake Mead, which will take us back through Purgatory.

My rental is a Lincoln Navigator, which feels immense in comparison to my little car. It will be perfect, though, if we attempt the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We looked it up yesterday, the road opened 15 May, so we've decided to wait till later in the week to give the mud and snow a while to go away.

Off to explore and take some pictures!

~n

Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 96; dbt: 0.1159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb