Snow Canyon hike


Advertisement
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Snow CanyonSnow CanyonSnow Canyon

Sandstone and basalt

Lava and sandstone and petrified dunes, oh my!



Dad and I drove up Snow Canyon and went for a hike this afternoon after the heat died down a bit. It was beautiful, and I was quite sad that I did not remember to bring my 'Roadside Geology of Utah'. It was a very curious combination of eroded pink-red rock, black pyroclastic looking lava, and white petrified dunes. Forgot the camera, but brought the phone (which takes some amazing photos, yay!). I will have to upload them when I get home. The views of the canyon from the top of the trail were stunning.

We are headed to Bryce tomorrow. Dad was teasing that Snow Canyon is a warm-up for Bryce, really looking forward to it.


unnecessary excesses



Lots of grass around. We were eye rolling at that, and then went to look at the local Amphitheater. Just outside the gates was a pool with water lilies. Yes, in the desert. They were just coming into bloom, and were gorgeous, but omg! What a waste of a scarce resource!!

I so love that cactus are the first thing to grow in cracks in the rock. Want to retire to this type of physical environment when the time comes, I do love the desert.

~n


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 98; dbt: 0.0838s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb