Utah Hwy. 313 & Gemini Bridges, BLM, Utah USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Moab
September 19th 2020
Published: February 7th 2021
Edit Blog Post

I drove across the Colorado River on the North side of Moab, Utah about fourteen miles NW on US Hwy. 191. Then I turned SW on US Hwy. 313 through BLM (Bureau of Land Management) property. My destination was Canyonlands National Park (I-Sky Division). I wanted to visit the great overlooks there to Grandview Point, then walk the trails on top of the large mesa rim. Also my plan was to drive the narrow dirt Shaffer Trail down to the White Rim Trail to enjoy the colourful canyons going upward, and downward to the Colorado River. Then I would drive down the Potash Road and make my camp on BLM land. (I never camp on National Park campgrounds cuz of their many silly strict rules, and possible harsh enforcement.) The fault of my plan happened when the National Park Service would not answer their phones or call me back; so I had no critical information needed.

Things went well driving through the BLM on Utah Hwy 313 on the paved switchbacks up to the top of the large mesa. There the BLM had a scenic view parking lot for the neat short walking trails to view the Monitor & Merrimac Buttes...and view the highway switchbacks below. I meandered around for a while then drove on.

Then Utah Hwy 313 went on to Dead Horse Point State Park; and I drove right on to Canyonlands National Park. (My first trip to Canyonlands in the 1980s the park had a dirt road with little visitation.) After entering the park I saw a very long line of cars (over a mile) sitting there with no movement. I made an U-turn and drove back to the BLM land.

I was driving back on the mesa and turned East on a dirt BLM road to the Gemini Bridges. I passed an interesting canyon on my way to the parking area for the natural bridges. There was a good walking trail to the natural bridges marked with rocks and paint stripes. I enjoyed this site and interacted with some other visitors.

I drove back to Moab, Utah and was thinking about my next free camp for the night.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

BLM View walking trailBLM View walking trail
BLM View walking trail

Monitor & Merrimac Buttes
BLM View walking trailBLM View walking trail
BLM View walking trail

Monitor & Merrimac Buttes
BLM View walking trailBLM View walking trail
BLM View walking trail

Monitor & Merrimac Buttes
BLM View walking trailBLM View walking trail
BLM View walking trail

Utah Hwy 313 switchbacks
BLM View walking trailBLM View walking trail
BLM View walking trail

Utah Hwy 313 switchbacks
BLM View walking trailBLM View walking trail
BLM View walking trail

Monitor & Merrimac Buttes
BLM dirt  roadBLM dirt  road
BLM dirt road

Gemini Bridges area
BLM dirt roadBLM dirt road
BLM dirt road

Gemini Bridges area
BLM (parking area)BLM (parking area)
BLM (parking area)

Gemini Bridges walking trail
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges walking trail
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges walking trail
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges Canyon
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges Canyon
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges Canyon
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges Canyon
BLMBLM
BLM

Gemini Bridges walking trail


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb