Westwater Canyon Settlement by the Colorado River, Cisco, Utah USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Moab
September 16th 2020
Published: January 29th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Interstate Hwy 70 View AreaInterstate Hwy 70 View AreaInterstate Hwy 70 View Area

wheelchair access walking trails
I had a long day in Colorado and wanted to camp on the Colorado River in Utah. Westbound on Interstate Hwy 70, the first exit on the North Side of the highway in Utah is a very nice large viewing area. Cuz of the wildfires in California the haze over Utah (and Arizona) was thick and nice pics were hard to come by. I did not stop at the view area on this trip, but wish to show the pics from my 2017 visit. This view area has restrooms and wheelchair accessible walking trails for nice views. I feel that this would be a legal place to sleep for the night.

I drove to the next interstate exit for the old Westwater settlement area dirt road on BLM (Bureau of Land Management) area leading to the Colorado River. On the way I passed a free BLM camping area. I passed a functional narrow gauge railroad, still in use. By the Colorado River was a pay BLM campground ($20 per vehicle fee), where I made my camp. The main camp area had many long parking spots for the truck trailers for the many Colorado River rafters. I lucked out and made
View AreaView AreaView Area

walking trail
my camp in the only semi-isolated camp. The next morning after sunrise I made a rare shoot looking directly into the sun while the smoke haze blocked out much of the sunlight.

The old 1800s Westwater Settlement area was founded by miners and the railroad. When the mining ran out Westwater was abandoned. I could not find any ruins of the settlement, but the railroad was still in use.

Note: When I first camped by the Colorado River there in the late 1980s, there was no signs, no people, and no fees. I think it is good for the river rafters to have the fee area to launch their rafts for an enjoyable float down the Colorado River with Class 3 & 4 rapids.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

View AreaView Area
View Area

walking trail
View AreaView Area
View Area

walking trail
View AreaView Area
View Area

walking trail
View AreaView Area
View Area

end of trail
View AreaView Area
View Area

end of trail
Westwater areaWestwater area
Westwater area

BLM free camping
Westwater pay campWestwater pay camp
Westwater pay camp

Colorado River
Westwater pay campWestwater pay camp
Westwater pay camp

Colorado River
Westwater pay campWestwater pay camp
Westwater pay camp

sunrise over Colorado River


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb