Day 10 of Road Trip to the Southwest - Arches National Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Arches National Park
December 25th 2005
Published: December 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I woke up from the camp site and enjoyed the beautiful mountain morning with the sunrise. After a little bit more exploration, I realized that there was a natural arch just behind my camp site. The mountain was beautiful bathing under the morning sunlight. The tempreture warmed up quickly with the sun. I truely enjoyed the camping experience here at the Devils Garden's camp ground. No wonder it was usually fully booked from March to November. I was really glad that I could experience it.

With a long drive planned today, I quickly packed everything and drove off. I enjoyed the final view of the arches and rocks on the way out of the park. My next stop was the four corners monument, where the four states (Arizona, Utah, Colorado, and New Mexico) met. After three hours drive, I was finally there. Unforuntately, the monument was closed for Christmas holiday. I was a little bit disappointed. I still wanted to claim to be at all four states. For my trip so far, I had been to Arizon, New Mexico, and Utah. To make up for the fourth state, I drove into Colorado area for about 1 mile (see picture). ***Laugh***

I continued my journey southward. Somewhere along the way, I drove into a wrong small highway and found myself way into the Navajo reservation area. The road was scenic and leisure. However, I noticed my car was running low in gas and there was no gas station in sight. I was getting a little bit nervous as I wasn't sure where I was. I finally saw one old gas station. I drove into the station, and found that it was closed. Several stray dogs were waiting there and warndered around my car. It didn't seem like a good place to stop. I drove off quickly and prayed that I found a gas station soon. Finally, before the warning light came on, I found a decent phllips 66 gas station that accepted credit card at the pumps. I pumped full tank and continued find my way out of the reservation.

By the time I reached Gallup, another route 66 stop, I had been driving for more than 7 hours. At that time, all I could think of was a hot shower. I quickly found a motel and ended my day.

Merry Christmas!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Welcome to ColoradoWelcome to Colorado
Welcome to Colorado

To prove I made it to Colorado


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0189s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb