Arches National Park


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We had been told we would be arriving at Arches for sunrise but it looks like I slept through it. The couple of people who were up said we didn't miss much. Again the campsite was in beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed breakfast, before a quick trip over the road to one of the trailheads at Arches National Park.

Here we did the Devils Garden trail, which took us past arches. You would think after one or two arches you would feel you have seen enough but thankfully that wasn't the case! For our return we took the primitive loop which was OK, but I'm not sure it was worth the slightly longer route back.

I think we then went to a freezing cold lake or resevoir or something for a dip. I didn't stay in long! The weather was starting to turn. We then stopped at Gooseneck State Park, named after the meandering river, where we camped for the evening.

The evenings campsite I cannot remember the name of but it was along the river. I pitched my tent, but it nearly blew away so I took it down and decided to sleep on the bus!

Tonight, after dinner, was the night we first properly considered hiking the Grand Canyon. Was something I really wanted to do but had to think carefully about. I was glad they took it seriously and gave us a chance to discuss our options with each other.

After another nice dinner and camp fire I had a good nights sleep on the half empty bus. Some crazy people slept outside and got attacked by the sand!

The next day if I remember correctly we went to Moab to do a spot of hiking shopping and to experience some form of civilisation. Popped in a few shops and bought ourselves a ridiculously cheap vodka and some mountain dew for the rest of the days journey. The afternoon I think was when we stopped off at a creek for a swim. We then stopped at Gooseneck State Park, named after the meandering river, where we camped for the evening.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb