2012 Road Trip #5: Sarita and The kenedy Ranch Museum


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
May 4th 2012
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Sarita, Texas, birthplace of Tony de la Rosa and Petra Vela. What can I say that hasn't already been said?

Its amazing to think such a little unknown place played such a big part in Texas History. The Kenedy Ranch rivals the King Ranch in size and production yet all we ever hear about is the King Ranch, the King Ranch even has their own casserole. Delicious isn't it?

The first thing I needed to do when I got to Sarita, TX was find Tony de la Rosa Street, named after my dad's accordion hero. His music has grown on me in my later life and I've come to appreciate his style of Tejano polka. The Kenedy Museum (Yes, it only has one N) is located at the house of the Kenedy's and the town Sarita is named after their daughter. Petra Vela was a powerful woman for her time and donated a lot of time and money to religious causes.

The museum walls are covered with murals depicting Mexican, Texan, and Family history and they are very well done. You can tell a lot of work went into them. There are also some creepy vaquero statues.
Mural Depicting Texas HistoryMural Depicting Texas HistoryMural Depicting Texas History

The whole inside of the Kenedy Ranch Museum is covered with murals depicting Texas and family history of the Kenedy's.

Later that day we made it back to Corpus Christi for the Buccaneer Days Light Parade. We got bored of the parade real quick and used the opportunity to escape to the carnival. I love small town carnivals! Colby won me a snake. No one has EVER won me a snake. But to be fair he only had to play against me and I suck at games, and this little kid. But hey, a snake is a snake.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Buccaneer Days CarnivalBuccaneer Days Carnival
Buccaneer Days Carnival

Corpus Christi, TX
Colby Won Me A SnakeColby Won Me A Snake
Colby Won Me A Snake

And I Won Me Some Glasses.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb