no one loves me


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

We planned last night over supper to start out today by 7:30. At 7:00 am Bob the Bold came knocking at our door wondering if we were ready to leave. Sam & I made Bob wait today. The breakfast at the motel was great. I noticed Bob's back tire a little low and he checked it. He normally runs around 100# psig but he was down to 65# psig. The weather looked like it would start raining any minute and we did get spit on a little. Sam was looking at the map and found a short cut that saved us about 4 miles. I met another cyclist who had a trailer with a large cross on the back. This was about 6' high. He is biking all 48 states while speaking at different locations. His site is bikeforgod.com, his name was Chris. We made it to Independence, Tx. for lunch and I was having some problems with my stomach. We stopped by a local grocery/deli store and ate. They have a dog who has the run of the store, wierd. After lunch we stopped by a Baptist church museum. Sam Houston was baptized in a creek about 3 miles from there. There was a lot of Texas history. Mary enjoys stopping and looking at there places. The church sanctuary had a light in the middle that had 12 oil lights which when lit, the whole thing was pulled to the ceiling. The 12 lights represent the 12 apostles. There was lots of history in this town. After lunch the sky cleared and the temp went up to 75'. At one point a group of dogs were going after Sam. He was proud to say he painted one white dogs face orange with the halt spray. Bob was so proud. The hills were getting a little wicked today although the wind was at our backs. This just made it feel hotter. Bob & Mary wanted to stay at a B&B in Burton for the night. This was $80.00 per night. Being a tight wad by nature I was wanting to camp. This required I rode another 7 mile down the road. My camping is only $10.00. This is more my speed. Sam whimped out on me as well and decided to stay at the B&B. I'm all alone and no one loves me. I feel extremely tired tonight, the hills today really kicked my butt, hopefully a good nights sleep and I will be right as rain. We climbed a total of 1987 feet and rode 51 miles. Austin is growing closer.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb