Rain Rain go away


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » La Grange
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Since I was at the campground last night and everyone else was at the B&B we planned to meet in Round Top. When I was packing all my things I couldn't find my coat. Yesterday it was tied on the top of my trailer. I guess it was blown off by all the 18 wheelers that passed me yesterday. When I started riding today it was slighty misting. With glasses on this makes for loads of fun. I can ride with glasses on and the lenses covered with water or without glasses and blurry. We finally met up in Round Top and we stopped at a local convent store and made a few calls. Bob was trying to procure a room in Austin for Friday. He called 8 different places and they were all booked. One motel called its sister motel and they had a room at $329.00, and this is after the discount. Bob decided to leave Friday night when Sam & I plan to leave. I was hoping to get a shower in Bob's room before I left to go home, but that idea is now out. We continued on our way and the traffic was heavy with a lot of big trucks and no shoulder. An officer pulled over to visit with us and he didn't like our choice of route. His name was Officer Martin. He even offered us a ride past this section of road if we chose. Within a half a mile we started having a nice shoulder. Shortly there after I kept hearing this weird noise behind me and when I stopped Bob noticed I had flat tire on my trailer. This is flat tire number three for me but number 15 for the group, and to think this is only half way across the US. I know what has been causing my flats, it is my tube liners. These help to prevent punctures but the seam causes the tube to fail. What to do. We stopped at a local BBQ place for lunch. The sandwiches were great. When we made it to the motel Bob stopped by our room and he was complaining about his legs being sore. Sam and I both agreed with him, my legs felt like the first week of this ride. We rode only 27 miles and climbed 1236 feet. We had misting for the morning and warm for the afternoon. The humity is very high and makes for a sweaty ride. The temp got up to 80' and the hills are still pronouced.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb