Del Rio-Langtry-Sanderson


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
February 22nd 2011
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Law and order West of the PecosLaw and order West of the PecosLaw and order West of the Pecos

Judge Roy Bean's Courthouse/Saloon/Pool hall while he was a justice of the peace in Langtry, Texas
Feb 16 Del Rio-Pecos River Bridge-Langtry- Sanderson
Since I went to bed when it got dark woke up early around 0400 and got up around 0500 and just loaded up and started West. It was kind of a mistake as I had considered going back into Del Rio and going to the SuperWalmart/Mcdonalds and buy some butter and a Sausage egg Mcmuffin. Really don't like backtracking but should have as butter in Sanderson was $3.65 for a pound of soft Parkay which I don't usually get but it was the best they had. A pound of butter was over $7.00. In any case I headed West but it was dark and so I drove on to Langtry and everything was closed so I ended up backtracking to the Pecos River Bridge anyway to wait on daylight.
The Pecos River Bridge had a very nice overlook and picnic area and then you can drive down to the boat ramp on the water to see it from there. You can see the junction of the Pecos River and Rio Grande River from the bottom overlook.
Figuring the travel center and Judge Roy Bean museum would be open by now I drove back West
Visitor Center Langtry TexasVisitor Center Langtry TexasVisitor Center Langtry Texas

The visitor center at Langtry has wireless internet and the Judge Roy Bean exhibits.
into Langtry to visit them. Most Rest Areas in Texas have public wireless and so I first caught up on email etc and then went to the museum.
The Courthouse/saloon is the actual building and not a reconstuction. I guess the dry climate helps. It was actually pretty interesting. If someone wanted to camp in Langtry there is a parking lot type RV park with full hookups for $15 a night as well as Dry camping available at the community center parking lot for free or a suggested donation of $2.00. I asked the woman at the information center where I could get something to eat and she told me I could get a hamburger at the Loop 25/Hwy 90 intersection on the West end of town in a store but if I wanted a restaurant type meal the closest place was in Sanderson which was 80 miles west. So as my next destination was Big Bend National Park anyway I headed West to Sanderson.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Pecos River BridgePecos River Bridge
Pecos River Bridge

Pecos River bridge viewed from the Overlook off Hwy 90.


23rd February 2011

Following along
Willaim, We are among your greatest fans. I loved this posting. Is Bud's BBQ still in Langtry? Did you eat lunch there? We visited Langtry, Texas in 1995 and had a great afternoon. Our dog, a Welsh Corgi, is named Miss Lillie Langtry. We would certainly love to go back.
24th February 2011

SCENES &DINING
LOOK LIKE YOU DINING AT THE RITZ GOOD THING YOU HAVE MONEY . 7.00 FOR A POUND OF BUTTER WELCOME TO PRE - CALIF .
8th March 2011

Just stores
All I saw while I was there was a Post Office/store that had some snacks and a store at the Hwy 90/24 Jct that would cook a hamburger for me if I wanted one. Since I was on the way to Big Bend anyway I waited till I got to Sanderson to eat.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb