Patience is a virtue


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
September 20th 2005
Published: September 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Only choice words can begin to describe how I have been feeling this past week. Even then, I'm not sure if they will do it justice, as much has passed between my last entry and today.

Hurricane Katrina was absolutely devastating. From the eyes of an onlooker, one can see the lasting impressions it left on thousands- millions as it affected this entire country at different levels. However, from the eyes of someone who has seen that carnage at point blank range, it looks even worse. I have been making it my new routine to go to the Astrodome 2 or 3 times a week to do whatever I can. I'm not sure if it makes it better or worse for me, because every time I leave it wrenches my heart to see all the people still there. I go back to my air conditioned house in suburbia after leaving thousands of homeless people who once had basically the same things as I did. I don't feel like it is my obligation to go and help, but based on the circumstances I see no reason not to.

Those circumstances are quite interesting as well. With 20,000 evacuees coming into my new hometown of Houston, they have inherently been entered into our workforce and our communities. Children are going to our schools, and the people that are planning to stay here (quite a few, from what I've seen) have been avidly looking for employment. As most come from the poorer parts of New Orleans, they are looking for the service industry type jobs that I have been struggling to find.

So stems the ethical paradox that has been bothering me so much.

I have been turned down from 13 restaurants in the past week. If you would like a list of them, just ask, as I have been keeping a running total in my journal. Out of those restaurants, 7 of them have physically told me that "due to Hurricane Katrina, we have been making room for evacuees that need jobs here in Houston." As I leave each restaurant, should I be upset that I didn't get the job? Should I site unfairness, and tell each manager that I would be a better employee? Or should I be happy that these people who have fled their entire existence are getting a small break over the rest of us?

I still don't have a job. I have been told I will hear back from the local school district this week if I get my substitute teaching job.

In the meantime, I have enough to keep me busy here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb