An utter tragedy...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
September 1st 2005
Published: September 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

In the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, I can only think about how similar the pictures look of the the Indonesian Tsunami. Utter destruction, helpless families with no food or water...and this is only 250 miles away from me.
After my interview with Babbin's Fish Restaurant (it went well...I'm supposed to be called this weekend) I made up my mind to do my part to help the victims of this massive storm. Come Tuesday morning, (after the Labor Day Lake House weekend) I decided to commit myself to helping in any way possible. My dad got an email today saying that they were paying people $9/hour to help out at the Astrodome. If its serving food or making some kind of financial decisions, I would like to do my part.

For those of you who would like to donate anything, please go to the Red Cross website: www.redcross.org The people who need help are amongst the poorest in the country...



Advertisement



2nd September 2005

Werd up
Mr. Steer, this blog thing is great. Is this how we will be staying in contact with you when your gone? Since you didnt respond to my email...how are we gonna get together before you leave? You name it, Im there. Thats awesome that you are able to help out in Houston. Lizz and I have been contemplating flying down to help out...maybe we can do something for a long weekend. Im gonna check into flights. DONT SELL YOUR BASEBALL CARDS, WHATEVER YOU DO!!! IM BEGGING YOU...IF YOU NEED CASH, ILL DONATE TO THE STEER FUND AS WELL. Talk to you soon man, take care - Jake
5th September 2005

5th September 2005

good luck with the Babbin's job!

Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb