Shelbyville, Texas, (Shelby County) USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Center
April 17th 2020
Published: April 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Shelbyville signShelbyville signShelbyville sign

TX Hwy 87 SE
I took TX State Hwy 7 East to Center, Texas for a good day. I took TX Hwy 87 SE to Shelbyville (the first brief county seat for Shelby County), and the Fire Department is my first pic in the City of Shelbyville. A block West of Fire Department is the First United Methodist Church. It was late afternoon and the sun was in my face. (The congregation started before this church was built.) There was not much in Shelbyville so I continued in error SE on hwy 87 when I needed TX FM 147 to San Augustine, Texas.

To get to San Augustine I turned West on FM 139 until it ended; then continued I West on West on CR 2571, a one lane dirt road with two way traffic. This worked out well cuz I found the McCelland Community Church with Cemetery; that I found later on an internet site.

I turned South on TX Farm Market 147, (a paved road to San Augustine County, then the City of San Augustine). Still in Shelby County on the East side of the highway I did a quick photo shoot of the Antioch Church and Cemetery. (not found on
Tenaha CreekTenaha CreekTenaha Creek

TX Hwy 87 SE
internet)

Just South inside of the San Augustine City city limits was the Historic Marker for the Alexander Horton Family Cemetery; arriving just before sunset. My camera batteries went dead and I drove to a store in San Augustine for batteries.

I returned to the Alexander Horton Cemetery just after sunset, and the rest of my pics were shot in the dark. Alexander served under Sam Houston at the April 21, 1836 Battle of San Jacinto, that won independence for the Republic of Texas from the vastly superior forces of Antonio Lopes de Santa Anna. Horton's brother William Wade was buried there after serving as a Texas Ranger for the Republic of Texas.

I went into the great City of San Augustine, but everything was closed. (I must go back to San Augustine soon!)

I drove home by Texas Hwy 21 (El Cameno Real) passing the San Augustine Civic Center and other neat structures. I also passed the San Augustine County Airport.

In Chireno (Nacogdoches County) I made a stop at the Old Stagecoach In.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Shelbyville Fire DepartmentShelbyville Fire Department
Shelbyville Fire Department

start City of Shelbyville First United Methodist Church, bottom left
Shelby County FM 139, CR 2571 dirtShelby County FM 139, CR 2571 dirt
Shelby County FM 139, CR 2571 dirt

McClelland Church on County Road 2571 (dirt)
Antioch Church & CemeteryAntioch Church & Cemetery
Antioch Church & Cemetery

start TX Farm Market 147
start City of San Augustine, before sunsetstart City of San Augustine, before sunset
start City of San Augustine, before sunset

Alexander Horton Family Cemetery (TX FM 147)
Alexander Horton Family CemeteryAlexander Horton Family Cemetery
Alexander Horton Family Cemetery

sign on ground night pic


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb