Return to the North Pole, Fields Chapel, (Anderson County), Texas USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Palestine
April 10th 2020
Published: August 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Last December, 2019, I had to push the issue to get a free map of the Texas State Railroad at the Palestine RR depot. Then I asked the location of the North Pole (Texas); and they answered that the North Pole location was a carefully guarded secret. I took that as a challenge for me!

From Rusk, Texas I drove West on US Hwy 84 to the Neches River leaving Cherokee County into Anderson County. I took the first County Road (West of the Neches River) South a short distance to the Texas State Railroad by Fields Chapel...by mile marker 17. From the Texas State Railroad map I found the North Pole by the two familiar spur tracks at mile 17.5; making my Westbound walk a half mile for each direction. I took a canteen full of water (HOH) and I walked. Soon I arrived at the North Pole to find that Santa, the elves, and much of the facade to be gone.

I walked up the West spur to where the spur tracks merged and ended...at the sweetgum tree.

I enjoyed seeing Santa's jail for his bad elves (LOL). There was still a bad guy there in the jail (LOL).

Then I made the half mile walk back. As I found Old Blue waiting for me, my canteen was dry.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Texas State RR mile 17Texas State RR mile 17
Texas State RR mile 17

possible walk East to Neches River
Texas State RRTexas State RR
Texas State RR

ready to start walk West
plaque # 3253, highly flammable and explosive with heath hazardsplaque # 3253, highly flammable and explosive with heath hazards
plaque # 3253, highly flammable and explosive with heath hazards

not pure compound for haz-waste disposal or recycle spill with fire evacuate 800 meters in all directions, further down-wind
Santa's walk over intermittent marshSanta's walk over intermittent marsh
Santa's walk over intermittent marsh

platform for Santa to board train


Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1133s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb