Rapid City Recap


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Rapid City
September 29th 2011
Published: September 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, I took a little walk after we got to the hotel. Main Street seems to have been done up with the tourist trade in mind. A few restaurants (including a vegan one), some stores, and on each corner a statue of a president. According to the info I got from other people on my tour, there is a statue of every president somewhere in town, but I didn't hunt them all down.

Quick "meeting" at 6 pm. After spending the bus ride up with just 20 people, it was weird to see 40 some people in one room. And realize that as much as I just want to hide out in the back of the bus, I am probably going to have to sit next to someone the whole time. The tour guide said he will do a seating chart every morning. That sounds like fun.....

There are a number of Australians on the tour, a few folks from England, a couple from Malaysia and a couple from Peru. That might prove interesting. I met a mother and daughter from Brooklyn traveling together.

After the meeting I headed out for supper. I wanted to go to the vegetarian restaurant, but they were expecting a big party and couldn't seat me. Let's see if I have better luck there tomorrow.

Had dinner at the Firehouse Brewery restaurant and scored my first free souviener. The people at the table next to me were discussing a button one of them designed and I chimed in that I'd like to see the button and the gentleman gave me one. It's a Yellowstone Enthusiast
button.

Well, I'm off to my room for dessert and some TV.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb