Crazy Horse, the 4 Presidents and a disappointment


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Rapid City
September 30th 2011
Published: September 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, today was spent at two different big mountain memorials. If you know the history of Mount Rushmore and the Crazy Horse sculpture, then skip ahead....

The Black Hills were considered sacred land by the Lakota people who lived here. And in the original treaty between the US government and the Lakota, the Hills were part of the territory ceded to the tribe. However, once it was discovered that there was "gold in them thar hills" the Lakota were forced off the land. When mining started to die down in South Dakota, the powers that be decided to try and up the tourism business. Gutzon Borglum was working on the Stone Mountain outside of Atlanta, and was approached by the South Dakotans to do something in this state. He decided to do 4 presidents. And you know who that turned out.... Well, the Lakota people eventually decided that they needed to show that they had heroes also, and so they decided to commission a monument of their own in the Black Hills. They choose Korczak Ziolkowski (who had actually worked on Mount Rushmore) and the project was begun in 1948. After 60 years, Crazy Horse's face is complete, and the mountain has been blasted down to the level of where his arm will be (the sculpture will show Crazy Horse on a horse with this arm extended over the head of the horse).

Gotta say, the Crazy Horse Monument is really cool, and will be incredible when (if) it is ever completed. And while I'm happy that the Lakota are getting tribute to one of their heroes, I find it a bit depresing that they are choosing to rock blast another mountain. We spent a couple of hours there, and I had fun exploring the museum and checking out the craftsmen working there. Some gorgeous bead and stonework to be seen.

After that, we headed to Mount Rushmore. I had been afraid that it would not be as incredible as I hoped, but let me tell you, it was indeed incredible. I wonder why anyone would spend their life blasting dead presidents into a granite mountain, but the outcome was worth it.

There's a pathway that goes down to near the mountain and then back up again to the veiwing terrace. 300 hundred stairs on it, but I'm glad I did the walk. I think I got some great pictures (teaser.... you have to wait until I get home to see them). We had 3 hours there and we were really lucky. It wasn't too crowded, and the weather was gorgeous! But I should have listened to the friend who told me to pack the insect repellant!

The disappointment for the day? Well, because days are getting shorter, the Antelope Canyon optional tour is not offered on this trip. But that is in order to give us a decent amount of time at the Grand Canyon, so I guess I can live with it.

Tomorrow we're off to Deadwood and Sheridan. I don't know if I'll get internet access, so don't worry if you don't hear from me for a bit...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0949s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb