Whoops, I zoned out.


Advertisement
Published: September 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My wonderful husband bought me that pretty camera and that pretty new computer so I could keep my travel journal up to date, and what do I do? Completely space and decide that I'm too lazy and busy to blog on myspace or my travel journal. And in truth, I've been sleeping for the past week. It hasn't been pretty at all.

Graduation went fine, our nephew is a Marine! He matriculated to VMI last weekend, and we'll probably go visit him soon. We're planning on going to one of the football games shortly. We spent the rest of Friday lounging around the hotel, eating and being lazy. It's on of those things you can only do on vacation, because if you try and be that lazy at home, something will inevitably come up.

Saturday we drove out to Hunting Island to do some geocaching and kayaking. We ended up only finding one cache, as we came at it the entirely wrong way and spent a couple of hours in the woods. On a positive note, our GPS was working like a charm, minus the fact that the compass blows. Kayaking was, once again, phenomenal. There were fish actually leaping out of the water, and Jere and I both got stuck on a large sandbar. We saw some jellyfish and all sorts of hermit crabs, and another blue crab or two. The coastal islands really are something else. Beaches in the Caribbean and Hawaii are, of course, absolutely breathtaking. But there's something about the coastal islands that will make you content to stop and stare for hours. The sand is a muted white, the tide pools are always full of life, and the entire beach has a care-worn look. We have pictures, but they're on my waterproof and I have yet to get it developed.

Sunday we drove home, but stopped off in Rocky Mount for an early dinner with Paul and Dawn. I think of all the parts of any trip south, that's always my favorite part! We got to go out and see their house, and holy cow. It's huge. And, of course, makes me want a house, too. In the end, I think that's where we'll end up. We love it in North Carolina, and that location isn't too far from beach or mountains or city. Then again, who knows? We may go bamboo. LOL.

During dinner with Paul and Dawn, my back started to itch. I figured I'd gotten a couple of bug bites, and didn't think much of it. When we finally got home, I took my shirt off, and Jerry actually gasped. My entire back was a rash of bites. And not only my back, oh no. My pretty little rump was covered in them too. So after driving all those hours, we had to get back in the car and find a 24 hour CVS to grab Benedryl. I was knocked out for almost three days before the bites started to go away. And I eventually stopped scratching my rear like a sailor.

Anyway, I'm trying to get up to date, and that's about all the news. If my maid comes before I post this blog, she's going to start throwing shoes at me, as they're scattered about the apartment. Jere and I are going out to dinner tonight. Steak sounds yummy. Pictures below.

Today's lesson: Bugspray is a very good thing. It's especially a good thing when you remember you have a back as well as a front!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb