Day 2 - Savannah to Myrtle Beach


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was all Interstate-95 driving and stressful in spots. Today was all back county and country roads and it was relaxing and enjoyable. Leaving Savannah and heading north took me over that really high bridge I photographed last night on the cruise and I was immediately in South Carolina. Being in no hurry, I took a ride off my route and headed for Hilton Head. My plan was to drive down the beach strip and see how things had changed since the last time I was there. I think that was almost 20 years ago. Unfortunately my GPS didn't cooperate and took me the some city building in Hilton Head which was nowhere near the beach. Leaving there I realized I was going the wrong way and ended up at a Wildlife Preserve. That was a bust, basically only a campground, had no palace to park and no trail markings. As I left and was ready to continue to the beach there was a 3 mile traffic backup so I headed off the island. I found the quaint little town of Bluffinton, where there was a lot of activity, including tons of motorcyclists. Looks like a place I would like to explore deeper sometime.

My second stop was a huge success, Beaufort, SC. Beaufort (the locals say Beau like Bow as in boyfriend) and I always said and heard it pronounced (like Be-U as it beauty). I toured the Historic and the Waterfront Districts, watched some Dragonboat Racing Event and had a delicious lunch on the water. This whole area is described as "Low Country" or "Tidelands". There is water everywhere, but unfortunately no place on the bridges to stop and take photos. I have those photos imprinted in my memories now at least. Sorry that I couldn't share.

In Myrtle Beach, I'm staying at a new Bluegreen timeshare, the Carolina Grand. It's modern and has all the amenities and is located across from the beach. I usually stay at the Seaglass Resort on beach side. After getting settled in, I took a walk on the beach and found "Bummz on the Beach", a restaurant for dinner, a drink and a great musician. My drink was the Beach Relief, Raspberry Vodka, Coconut Rum, with Pineapple and Cranberry juices. The highlight of my night though was a relaxing dip in the pool spa. Ahhh...what a great day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb