Sand Blasted


Advertisement
Published: February 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Sand Blasted

The weather report called for rain with strong winds but not until 8 am, so I was hoping for a good sunrise. The old saying "red sky in the morning" was true today. Pictures

The wind picked up by 10 and brought the rain with it. The forecast was for rain all day so I had planned to spend the day inside doing projects but Mother Nature had other plans. The sun came out after just an hour so I had to go out and see the ocean. Oscar reluctantly came with me and when we got to the top of the dune he put his feet out and that was that. He wasn't going another step. The wind was blowing the ocean into a turmoil and the sand was blowing like drifting snow.

I took Oscar to the camper and came back out to look for shells and enjoy the drama. It was beautiful watching the ocean waves but not getting blasted by the sand. I stayed out for a while but then went back to the camper to have breakfast and check the computer.

Later I went back out with my chair and a plastic bag for the shells. It was now low tide and after the wind and storms the shells were more plentiful. They are mostly oyster shells rolled around in the surf having their rough edges smoothed out. There was an occasional different shell but nothing I just couldn't live without.

When I got back my sweatshirt was almost white with sand and there was sand everywhere even in my bed! It was getting late so I decided to go have a shower and get ready for dinner then Survivor on tv tonight. I need to get to bed early, sunrise tomorrow then driving to Virginia Beach.

Edisto Beach is definitely on my repeat list. It is beautiful here, especially the star viewing. I saw the stars tonight before the moon rose and they are bright and plentiful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement




26th February 2016
wouldn't go any further

lmbo
That is definitely the nope I'm not taking another step stance! His little ear flapping in the wind is the tops!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb