Trip 3: Mehoopany, Pa


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
August 27th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This trip started out a bummer because they split me and Caitlin up. I headed to Mehoopany, Pennsylvania and she headed to Iowa City. We are both at Proctor and Gamble sites but our plants make different products. Our goal for these locations was to learn safety tests, information and procedures. I flew out in the morning and landed at 7:30pm only to find out that our travel agency had flown me into the wrong airport and I now needed to drive my rental car for another 2 hours. THANK GOD FOR CELL PHONE NAVIGATION! It has made this whole travel process soooo much easier and stress free. I arrived in Clarks Summit which is a cool area. It is in the cuts but apparently a huge ski town during the winter. This was the first location where I had to buy steel toed shoes and luckily I found shoe style instead of boots and they were cheap at Walmart. The site was HUGE. It is the biggest Proctor and Gamble plant that exists. It basically supports the entire town. The plant I was at made toilet paper, paper towels, diapers, etc. It was funny to see how many brands are made in the same facility and there were huge rolls of toilet paper that were GIANT it was crazy to see how all that stuff was made and how huge the machines are. I never got to see the diaper side of the plant though. On Tuesday I was under the impression I would be at this time for two weeks so I called and extended my hotel and rental car for another week. Two hours later I got a call saying to get on an immediate flight to Kentucky to a new site. I did take some pics so please check em out. The Penn countryside was beautiful and the weather was a nice change from hot/humid kentucky. In Pa it was grey and rainy-reminded me of Petaluma in the late Fall. One thing I have loved about being on this side of the country is seeing all these beautiful houses and building made out of brick. We have lost most of that in California so its nice to see. Goodbye Mehoopany, Hello Bardstown Kentucky (Which I am told by Steve Cox is the bourbon capital of the US)


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb