Horrible Day.........


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
August 16th 2010
Published: August 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Don't panic we are fine it was just not a very good travel day. I started out sad to leave the RV Park in Medina, OH. For some reason I really liked that place and didn't want to leave. We got out of there around 9:30 and headed to Harrisburg, PA which was about a 335 mile drive. This was a long day for us since we have only been driving about 200 to 250 miles each time we travel. We decided to travel on the Interstate since we had a lot of miles to go and wanted to get there at a decent hour. We hadn't been driving the Interstates since we left Montana! Well Sister I can tell you now why we don't like to drive the Interstates. We hit road construction after road construction and oh, there weren't any guys working the whole darned way that was blocked off! The traffic was sure backed up though. Then we got to a sign that read "Tune to AM Channel 1640 When Lights are Flashing". The lights were flashing so we turned on the radio and I'll be danged if everytime that she would get to the part that told us what was happening and where to go we would hear nothing but static and couldn't make out what she was saying. Is that frustrating or what? So I just told Don to follow the trucks in front of him because he could go wherever they went. A flashing sign finally told us that we were being detoured at milemarker 111 to mile marker 120. We figured only 9 miles no biggie. Well we started the detour at around 1:30 and it wasn't until 4:30ish that we FINALLY got back around to I80. IT TOOK US 3 HOURS TO GO 9 MILES!!!!!!! It was horrible. I have never in my life been through a more disorganized detour. They had us winding through this little town and there were volunteer firemen and policemen in the streets trying to direct people where to go. I know that they were trying their best but after 3 hours sitting on the road you get a little weary. By the time we got back onto I80 Don had such a headache and we were both hungry and grumpy from people cutting in front of us and driving on the side of the road, you know just being stupid after sitting there for so long. It wouldn't have been a big deal but I had just called a place in Harrisburg and made a reservation for the night right before this whole debacle started and she was very specific in letting me know that there were NO REFUNDS. We still had 150 miles to go, ugh! We decided to stop and get a quick bite to try and get rid of the headache and grumpiness. It is amazing what a little food will do. We then proceeded on with our journey hoping to not encounter anymore bad luck. We got here to the campground about 9pm and of course it was dark. I had called earlier to let them know we would belate so our stuff was left at the office door. I had specifically told the gentleman when I called that we wanted a site that didn't have trees so that we could get our satellite locked on without any problems and he said that he put me in a space by the office so I shouldn't have a problem but he couldn't guarantee. That should have been my first clue. Of course we couldn't lock on because the whole place is covered in trees! I told Don to just forget it and let's just turn in and call it a day. Tomorrow will be better. We are going to go to Hershey, PA and you know what they do there don't you? I think after today I am going to sample every single piece of chocolate that they will let me get my hands on! We are going to move to a different park tomorrow too. Gotta have that TV. They don't even have cable here! Love you😊K

Advertisement



17th August 2010

Sounds like a day from HELL!! Hang in there and remember the good days.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb