NFL Hall of Fame


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Canton
August 14th 2010
Published: August 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Don @ NFL Hall of FameDon @ NFL Hall of FameDon @ NFL Hall of Fame

Here is Don standing in front of a BIG sign outside the Hall of Fame.
Yesterday we dropped Karlie off at Doggie Day Camp again, (she just loves it!) and headed to Canton for the NFL Hall of Fame. It didn't disappoint. Too bad that we weren't there last weekend when they enshrined the class of 2010. Who knows maybe we could have met Emmitt Smith or Jerry Rice? Anyhoo, seeing as I am a diehard Miami Dolphins fan, I was in my element. You will notice that most of the pictures are of the Dolphins. (yeah Storm!) Sorry to those of you who don't like them but hey, I had control of the camera so too bad. (HA!) Seriously, I loved the dolphins when I was a little kid in grade school. Back when Griese was Quarterback and they had Csonka, Warfield, and Kiick. They were a dominating force and no one could beat them. Don Shula was one of the greatest coaches of all time too with a lot of class. All of this is pretty much evidenced in the Hall of Fame as you will see in the photographs. I also liked that they had a Dolphin for a mascot and they had pretty cool colors too. I did take some photographs of
NFL Hall of Fame & Us 2NFL Hall of Fame & Us 2NFL Hall of Fame & Us 2

Here we are in front of the entrance to the Hall. Behind us is the Stadium where they had the Inductee Ceremony. You can still see the banner hanging up. We couldn't tour the field because they were still tearing down the stage and stuff. Bummer!
the Vikings and Chargers for my grandsons however I found out after we left that Jamison's new favorite team is the Carolina Panthers. Who knew? Oh well, Nana tried. As you leave the Hall they have Madden Playstation games and there is also a place to throw footballs through these holes kind of like they have at amusement parks and fairs. Of course Coach Collins had to perform for the crowd. Well, his audience included these three mid 30's aged guys who were ribbing their one friend who couldn't make the shot. So of course Dandy Don struck up a conversation with them and had to show them how it was done. He didn't make it on the 1st try but did make it on the 2nd. After making the shot he then launched into the "Don Dance". You know the one he does when he sinks a golf shot or does something he is proud of. Lovely....... We had a great time and I just have to say that if you even remotely like football you have to come to visit this Hall one day. It just makes you wanting to go see a football game when you leave.
Oldest Football UniformOldest Football UniformOldest Football Uniform

This is one of the uniforms from the 1920's. The guy looks like an alien!
Is it football season yet?

We took another do-nothing day today. It is back on the road tomorrow but we haven't figured out where to go yet. Guess you will have to stay tuned. Love you and miss you! 😊K


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Oldest FootballOldest Football
Oldest Football

This is one of the oldest footballs. Look how big it is!
Jerry RiceJerry Rice
Jerry Rice

This was Jerry Rice's picture from the Inductee Ceremony. Everyone's was still hanging on the wall. I only have Jerry's. Actually I took Emmitt's too but didn't blog it.
Tomlinson OutfitTomlinson Outfit
Tomlinson Outfit

Here is LaDanian Tomlinson's uniform. I thought Braydon might like this.
TomlinsonTomlinson
Tomlinson

Here is LaDanian's jersey and I thnk some info on when he broke a record.
My Perfect DolphinsMy Perfect Dolphins
My Perfect Dolphins

This is when the Dolphins from '72 were inducted into the Hall of Fame. This was their "Perfect" season.
Mercury MorrisMercury Morris
Mercury Morris

Mercury Morris' jersey from the '72 "Perfect" season.
Csonka & Swann GreatsCsonka & Swann Greats
Csonka & Swann Greats

Larry Csonka and Lynn Swann. Two Greats. Hey Julie, can we pick 'em or what?
Dan MarinoDan Marino
Dan Marino

Marino, need I say more.......
49ers49ers
49ers

Steve Young and the Niners. Don's team.
ChargersChargers
Chargers

We are liking the Chargers now that Ryan Mathews is on the team.
My DolphinsMy Dolphins
My Dolphins

Yep, me again.....
Don Drenched @ the FinishDon Drenched @ the Finish
Don Drenched @ the Finish

Don getting the Gatorade drenching at the end.


16th August 2010

Sounds like fun...
that football hall of fame! My boys would love it there! Love the shout out to Storm. He smiled when he read your blog. Keep um coming, Karen!
18th August 2010

Excuse me where is my picture of JOE? I think he was in the class of 2003. We are still in Texas, leaving for Branson in a few days. Love you guys.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb