Crossing the US From New York to California: First Days on the Road


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania
April 17th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The much expected trip across the US and a bit of Canada!



It's happening!!

I stayed in London a little longer than planned because my passport fell out of my pocket as I was riding to Tower Bridge... A great hassle to get a new one but it was a good opportunity to see friends (though not enough time to see everyone) and enjoy London for a while. It was great fun to stay with Celso on Harley Street. I even managed to take Luis out to Harrison's Rocks for a bit of climbing. I fixed my dear VFR myself and sold it to a nice guy who seemed would take care of her alright.

Ok, enough of that. New York! It was rainning when I got to JFK but when the taxi arrived in Manhattan (I know, it's not really like me taking a taxi... but this was a free ride with an Italian guy I met on the plane) the sun was shining through the incredibly high buildings, chunks of the sky were blue and I had a momentaneous view of the Chrisler as you do when you're driven downtown... I was finally inside Sex & the City.

I stayed at Teresa's spacious apartment across the Hudson in Passaic, New Jersey. So good to have Teresa's company again! It feels like we've never been apart since 97 when we spent six months sharing the flat in Central Park West! That was when I painted her Gauguin-style portrait and took a pottery course on Chambers Street; the Twin Towers were still there... Yep, nostalgia!

Right, I enjoyed a few days in Manhattan, had fun going back to my favourite spots, went to see The Body Works exibition with Teresa, walked around the streets of Passaic admiring the wooden houses and bought Tan, the fantastic Fard's van which will take me across the US.

Yes, this time I'm living in a van. I've spent quite a lot buying Tan and updating my camping equipment (check out my new stove and coffee maker, plus the bike!), so I'm back to doing things on the cheap side, as usual!

Shenandoah National Park, Virginia: my first proper stop. I had a fantastic warm sunny day, cycling around wearing just shorts, checking the views and the wildlife. Spring has not quite quicked in yet but the park is very pleasant and so well maintained!

I laid down on the crunchy forest floor looking up at the trees' bare branches and dozzed off trying to hear birds that were not there yet... Unlike the nights spent at rest stops, I went to sleep without the aid of earplugs and had breakfast before hitting the road. The long beautiful road that seems never come to an end across this huge country...


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



28th April 2008

Hey, Jose
Loved the new entries. I look very busty on that picture, thank you! Doesn't happen often. Can't wait to meet you and see the Grand Canyon! Much love, Teresa
2nd May 2008

Uau zé , já vi que trocou sua motinha por um meio de transporte mais comodo , muito bem agora cuidado aí com as Americanas!Hé,hé.
26th May 2008

Your new stove!
Loving your new little stove. It does look beautiful there and the van was a great idea.
3rd July 2008

stove
Jose! Thomas and I bought a stove just like yours, green and all! We're leaving to Cape May tomorrow. Hope you are enjoying Canada!

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb