Normandie: Last Stops Before I Get Back to the White Cliffs of Dover


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Lower Normandy
February 25th 2008
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The last evening of this trip! I stayed in the youth hostel of a very charming historical town in Normandy: Bayeux.

It was hard to believe I would be back to London the following day.

One hundred and sixty five days on the road. Over ten thousand miles on the bike through four countries and two different continents.

My mind is full of fragments of memories, like a puzzle made out of so many images: mountains and beaches, villages and cities, different weather, new friends, funny moments, challenges, dangers on the road, beautiful sunsets and sunrises, various languages, delicious food, amazing climbing routes and so much more...

Plage d'Etretat was the very last place I squeezed in, risking missing the ferry in Calais. A beach that is so much like Beachy Head in Southeast England! I imagine these two beaches holding hands under the channel as I have my sandwich sitting in the sun on the perfectly round pebbles, watching children playing and couples sunbathing.

I feel a bit like a survivor after driving all the way from Portugal to the north of France in the last few days. But above all I am immensely grateful for all the experiences I have been through during this trip! I will certainly treasure every single moment of it.


My next chapter: North America! Cheers!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



28th April 2008

Greetings from London
Ey! you are catching up with your job!! Well done! Where are you the moment?
26th May 2008

Bayeux
Bayeux does look like a beautiful little town. It looks like the sun has stopped on the ferry though - back to England and back to rain, typical!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb