Le Mysteriously Enchanting Mont-Saint-Michel


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
February 24th 2008
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A trully bewitched castle!

Check the coast of Bretagne on Google Earth. On the right-hand-side of Saint-Malo you'll find this long narrow peninsula that stretches over muddy purple sand, and at the end of it there's a hill. Perched on top of that hill is the legendary Castle of Saint-Michel. A nothing less than Fabulous setting!

This is a destination I had been looking forward to reaching towards my last days on this fantastic trip. Here I am!

I will save my adjectives this time. Yes, this place is quite touristic and commercial. But there's no denying it's still magical! And I absolutely loved it (exclamation mark)!




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The Closer I Got to Saint Michel (without disturbing the dragon)The Closer I Got to Saint Michel (without disturbing the dragon)
The Closer I Got to Saint Michel (without disturbing the dragon)

The golden statue of Sain-Michel and the dragon who made him so famous is on top of the tallest spire.


4th May 2008

Magical Mont St Michel
I hope you stayed there overnight - the place is virtually deserted as all the daytripper tourists have gone, and the place is (well it was when I stayed there quite a few years back) lit by subdued yellow lights. It almost felt like I had stepped back to the middle ages. A truly magical experience.

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb