It's always sunny in Philadelphia


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Philadelphia to Washington


The hotel we were staying at one of the best free breakfast's that we had on the entire trip, me and Harv took loads of the bacon which is perfectly crispy and much better than what we usually get back in the UK. It was about 30 minutes to Philadelphia from the hotel and upon entering the city 8 lanes of traffic merged into 2 so that you could drive over the bridge and into the city, this is something that definitely needs to be redesigned at some point! We drove around the city for quite a while until we were finally able to find a car park and it was really expensive. As Philadelphia was one of the key cities to the American independence there was some great historical things to learn about. We started off by visiting the Liberty Bell which was really interesting and I learnt a lot about the history of the bell.



After the bell I remembered about the TV show its always sunny on Philadelphia and that Michael had mention that there was a pub that the TV show was based on and I knew that I had to visit there just to rub it in Michael's face as he loves that show. It was quite a small pub but it was a nice little place to stop for a drink and they had some free bar snacks, I took a load of photos and sent them back to Michael! Whilst in that pub we learned that there was another pub we needed to visit that was co-owned by one of the actors in the show. After my second drink I was starting to feel a little tipsy and knew that I needed to go and get some food. It was now time to find the cheese steak house that me and Alex had been recommended in Stowe called Pat's king of steaks.



Unfortunately it was not located in a great area and we had to walk through some very sketchy neighbourhoods to get there and it was another lengthy walk. It was definitely worth the walk as the cheese steak was absolutely amazing and I was tempted to buy another one. There was another cheese steak place across to road and apparently both places have been in a fierce rivalry for decades. On the way back we stopped off to try a canoli which turned out to be a little bit rich for me. Alex really wanted to see the Rocky Balboa steps so that was our next stop, it was a long walk to the car and then a quick 15 minute drive across the city to get there.



Upon arrival the Rocky Balboa statue was located at the bottom of the steps but I am pretty sure it used to be located right at the top of the steps. We all decided to do the run up the steps which Jack recoreded and annoyingly even with Harv having a bad back I could not beat him to the top. By the time we had done this it was 4pm and it was time to leave so that we could head onto Washington, it was quite clear that Philadelphia had a lot more to offer and it was a shame that we could not have spent some more time in the city. It would have been good to have had a night our drinking there. It was another lengthy drive to Washington and by the time we arrived at the hotel it was nearly 8pm. There was a valet at the hotel who parked the car for us which was a good touch.



The hotel was one of the nicest that we had stayed at and when we got to the desk they were able to upgrade our room. This was definitely the time that I would have wanted to have my name come out of the hat for the single bed as it was a separate room with a king sized bed but sadly Alex was the one to get this honour. As this was meant to be our big night out we had to rush to get ready to go out and we got a taxi to the best drinking area in Washington according to the concierge which was on Quincy Adams street. There were a lot of good bars on that street and we ended up in a bar with 2 floors which was really good. I made history by finishing 3 pints in a row quicker thank Jack even though each time I did it he claimed that it would never happen again. The third pint I finished in 5 minutes which was the quickest I had ever drank a pint in my life!



As we had not eaten since 4 and we all had a lot to drink in a very short space of time we all started to drift off back to the hotel. Alex and Jack went first but I had not even realised that they had left. Me, Jake and Harv went next and Grant was the last to leave. Grant stayed behind as once again he had been successful in pulling a girl, I apparently had a good chance as well which I was later informed about but I could not remember this being the case! When we got back to the hotel we went back to my room where Alex had locked his door and Jack was nowhere to be found and initially we thought they were sharing the bed. We would find out the next day that Jack had gone on a late night pizza run. I decided to stay in the other room and me and Jake shared the sofa which was actually quite comfortable and there was plenty of room. Grant somehow had managed to get put into another taxi that got him back to the hotel, he was getting really luck on that front all holiday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb