Time starts... NOW!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Springfield
June 17th 2013
Published: June 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

University of OregonUniversity of OregonUniversity of Oregon

I will miss the verdant Northwest.
Greetings!

Once I knew I was moving to China, I often debated when I should write my first entry. Should I start 100 days 'til I leave? 88 days sounds lucky. Eventually, I determined that 46 days was appropriate since it's the day I graduate from the University of Oregon (Home of the Ducks).

Graduation is the time the ducklings finally spread their wings and attempt to leave the nest and view the world.

Since, I left high school, I haven't seen much of the world (beyond Western Canada, Florida, Hawaii and the Western United States). I longed to study abroad in the UK or China, yet never had the funds to support such a goal. It wasn't until recently, I learned that I could get paid to teach abroad. It was that very idea that has motivated me to push through my final years of college.

I still have a while before I pack-up for China. I will spend this time putting my affairs in order, spending time with my family (while they are still around), and admiring the beauty of my homeland where I have resided since birth.

Throughout the course of this blog, you'll experience my ups and downs, my struggles to maintain a long-distance relationship with my girlfriend (I'm certain we'll persevere), my attempts to interact with the locals, my miseries when I get lost, my victory when I find my way home, my enthusiasm to try new foods, my home-sickness, my life.

Advertisement



17th June 2013

Have fun!
Scott, Sounds like this is going to be the adventure of a lifetime. I look forward to following your journey through your blog. Make sure we have a going away party before you leave!! -Karissa

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb