Wireless in Oregon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Reedsport
September 24th 2007
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Who would've thought that you couldn't find wi-fi on the beach in Oregon? Well, we've had a tough time. Reason: coffee kiosks. With a kiosk every block there are no coffee shops, the home of wi-fi nationwide. So we have finally found one in Reedsport, our last stop on the coast (probably--but who knows, it's early in the day).

We are heading to Crater Lake either today or tomorrow. Camping the first night where it is projected to be in the 20s. That will be our coldest night yet so we'll see how it goes. The pay off is that after that we're setting up in a B&B for a couple nights to rest. So while freezing we will have that to look forward to.

Saw some Gray Whales off the coast yesterday and today viewed the elusive Roosevelt Elk (Yeah, John!). Coast has been pretty but lots of traffic over the weekend. And yes, Windie, Seaside was Pigeon Forge by the Sea. And yes, Lindsey, it looks like we will store a couple days here for use down in Sequoia. I know you'll be pleased. I guess I'll take tall trees over RVs anyday. As for the Hermit Cottage, I don't know. I feel weird about the whole coming back to reality thing. Not sure what all this means. Bear with me, dear friends, as you have been doing for a long, long time. I'll try to be as normal as possible, which of course means not very normal at all. Normal for me is strange. I hear you all nodding in agreement! Stop it!
Moose

09/23/07 Oregon coast. Very beautiful. Weather continues to be great. Planned on camping last night, but the state park was almost completely full (a lot of people and RVs) and the few remaining sites were not so great, so we ended up in a B&B just outside Pacific City. Darn. Hot tubbing and taking it easy. Sure wish we had camped. Guess we will tonight if all goes well. The coast is hopping on a beautiful weekend. We are spoiled by frequently being one of a few campers at a campground (we closed the C loop in the last campground in Hoh rainforest; we had just set up when a ranger told us he closed off the loop to others coming in. 3 folks set up in a campsite with about 30 sites, so basically had it to ourselves. Sweet.).
Heading down the coast and tentatively over to Crater Lake tomorrow if all goes well. We still need to burrow in somewhere for a few days, but haven’t decided when or where yet. Still so much to do and Moose is keeping us on schedule. I have not planned any of this though I help out in finding future places. I actually think I am bugging Moose by not being decisive. I think I am getting used to it and likely will not be the type A planner I have been in the past. Nah, that isn’t going to happen. There is a great theatre company in Ashland, Oregon, so hoping we may be able to make a stop there en route from Crater Lake to California. We have done a lot of “Lewis and Clark” stuff, so I am now officially referring to this as the “Lawhorn and Mongold expedition of 2007”. I think our journey is a wee bit easier. Their journey was quite amazing and I have learned a fair amount of history and geography on this trip, not to mention geology, cause there sure is a lot of rock stuff out here. And birding. I know ravens without even having to consult Jim. Map reading is also now one of my specialties. And lets not forget camp cooking. We had apple pastries for dessert a couple of days ago. Fresh apple slices cooked in cinnamon and sugar and a thin pancakey instant oatmeal thingy fried up to go with them. Tasted pretty yummy. Course when you are hungry and tired, PBJ is a gourmet treat as well.
09/24/07 Oregon coast. Delicious chai. Saw whales yesterday. All is still well. Agree with Moose on normal being strange for him. I definitely see some head nodding on that note. Did I mention we have been together, non-stop for over 44 days? Yeah, but who is counting (actually not sure if that is right, but 7 weeks today since we left Nashville and we left Knoxville two days prior to that). As to our propsed return back home as has been asked, I'm thinking Halloween day if all goes well. Hope all of you are working on your costumes.
Squirrel






Advertisement



24th September 2007

AHHHH YES! My "mongold guilt-tripping gene" has worked again! You will not be disappointed in Sequoia.
25th September 2007

Happy Halloween
You'll be home just in time to join us for Dracula: The Musical? at Theatre Knoxville Downtown on Halloween night. It's a costume party just like last year - maybe you can win more season tickets!

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0871s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb