Cinco de Mayo!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
May 5th 2005
Published: May 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So today is Cinco de Mayo in Portland, Or (and, I suppose, most other places in the world that celebrate this Mexican holiday). Portland has a "sister city"--Guadalajara! Having visited Guadalajara, Mexico, I was excited to learn that the wonderful dance troupe, Ballet Folklorico de Guadalajara are performing at the fiesta down on the waterfront. Yea for brightly colored dresses and sparkling smiles! Perhaps there is some salsa or flamenco in my near future....

Speaking of which, I'm so excited!!! I still need to buy the tickets, but it looks like I'll be able to go the Eistedfodd International Festival in Llangollen, Wales! If I make it there by the 7th
(which I will), I could go to the evening concert--Flamenco Nights! Yea for swooshy skirts, pounding feet and beautiful serpent-like hands!

By the way, the reason I have set up this blog is to keep people updated on my doings, but mostly for keeping in touch during my travels (to Europe, show tours, etc.). We'll see how often I blog, but comments and questions will help feed the fire, so please feel free to "participate" as much as possilbe! I want to keep in close contact, even with my busy schedule-- so keep me updated on your own comings and goings.

Hope all is well.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb