Finally


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 22nd 2005
Published: July 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello All-

I've finally begun to come out of my "leave everything behind"shell, mostly thanks to Kyle. I even forgot I had a travel blog account--which makes updating people on my adventures much easier.
Well, I have a lot of catching up to do, I'm already here in RAINY Amsterdam, the first time in weeks I've gotten wet with something other than my own sweat. But I'll get to that later.

Firstly, let me tell you where I've been so far, and one by one I'll explain (the joys of free internet!). I have been (in chronological order) to the UK (York, the Cotswolds, London, Liverpool), Ireland (Kilkenny, Cashel, Cork, Kinsale, Kenmare, Ring of Kerry, Dingle, Galway, Tara, Dublin), Wales (Holyhead, Conwy, Llandudno, Llangollen, Betws-y-coed, Beddgelert, Snowdonia, Portmadog, Portmeiron, Cardiff), France (Paris, Versailles), Belgium (Bruges), and the Netherlands (Amsterdam). Phew.

Now, keep in mind that I have only been traveling alone since leaving Ireland. However, things seem to pack themselves in tighter when you travel alone. I feel like I've been traveling forever, when in reality it hasn't been long at all. It's truly an adventure, but it does help me appreciate having a home to go back to (don't take that for homesickness! I'm not!). But being in a warm bed for more than a couple days seems like an incredible luxury to me right now. Or even having the assurance that I have a place to stay. Anyway, those little struggles are what in the end make this trip quite enjoyable.

I meet the weirdest, most interesting people while traveling. Most are either around my age, also traveling, or even sweet older men who want to tell me their life story while on the bus, or even more middle-aged couples ever willing to give me advice (even if I don't need it...it does get a bit patronizing after a while). But most people are nice, and I've only gotten into a creepy situation once or twice, and once again a good samaritan might come to the rescue. Here in Amsterdam has been the first "sketchy" place I've really been to. The freedom people have here is great--but at a price. Crime and drugs run rampant (as does prostitution--which is legal), truly Europe's original "city of sin"". But, they have a film museum and Wagamamas, so I'm perfectly content to brave the cyclists and tour the city.

Yes, in this city, bikes rule. It's great, until you try to walk around and they silently come up on you before blasting their frightening warning bells. I should rent one, just so I can be hip and frighten the pedestrians, it does look like fun. They even have cycle paths next to the road that are protected by a barrier from the main traffic. Or rather, as I call them "pyscho-paths". But I do love the idea of having a city full of bikes, cutting down on traffic, pollution, and also more reasonable in a medieval city with canals. It's also very flat, which helps get around. Anyway, I think I need to join the madness or else get run over.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb