What about Mid-Sized Airports?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
November 27th 2022
Published: November 27th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Truth be known, I am beginning to dislike ALL airports. I have spent too much of my life, both for business and pleasure in good and bad airports around the world. For every Changi Airport in Singapore, there is a dump in Katmandu. And it seems the dumps leave a lasting impression!

Out of 30 ranked midsized airports, here are WSJ’s top 5:
1.) Sacramento International Airport (SMF) I have not been there for about 10 years.2.) San Diego International (SAN) Always easy to get in and get out quickly. Food needs to improve.3.) Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (SJC) Big improvements over the years. But named for my friend, Norm Mineta.4.) San Antonio International Airport (SAT) I do not remember much about it.5.) Portland International Airport (PDX) One of the more interesting airports in the US. Good food and shopping!

We also have Honolulu at #6, Maui at #13, Oakland at #10, Nawlins at #23. Generally, mid-sized airports are faster and easier to navigate. Yet, they offer some of the same perks as larger airports: Airline lounges, bars, restaurants, and sometimes entertainment.
Nawlins is always fun since the food is good, and it seems to have captured a bit of "Bourbon Street" magic. I do not care for any of the airports in Hawaii. Oakland was my home airport for almost 50 years, and nothing can improve its rather boring and sterile atmosphere. My first trip to Europe left from Oakland, a charter that cost $99 one way. Never again!
Without any facts to back me up, I am guessing I have spent as much time in airports as I have in the air. Thank goodness for airline lounges and bars.
Why doesn't someone write about the best airport bars? Because the best one is the one you are sitting in right now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb