Visiting an Old Friend


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Lincoln City
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

9/2/09 We stopped in on my old high school friend, Dick, out of the blue last night. He lives on the Oregon coast along a well-kept-secret of a salmon stream. We did the same thing to him about a decade ago. He loved the serendipity of having us drop in on him like that again. Dick is one of the people in this world that I can pick up a conversation where it was left off years before with no problem. We talked until late in the night remembering our youthful craziness, sharing stories of the ups and downs of the past decade, and tugging at the thread that runs between the two. I must say, it is a real luxury to have someone who you need not do a whole lot of preamble with while explaining your current self. They immediately see the connections. One thing Dick said that I believe will stick with me is when, after telling me about the hard times he's had since I last saw him, he has now come out on the other side. Life is good and he's just landed a very satisfying situation for himself. His words were poignant, "Maybe it's my turn." I think it might just be appropriate to say the same thing for myself. All in all, it was a mighty fine night indeed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb