Every Day Can't Be Your Best Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Arcata
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

California CoastCalifornia CoastCalifornia Coast

What's not to love?
Blogger's note:Bear with us loyal blog readers, we are generally away from internet service so some blog entries will be written and posted later, maybe en masse while several days may go by between postings.

8/29/09 Since we left St. Louis, I have been quite buoyant. Our moods have been high and the highway has us excited. That was not the case for me today. I had the blues, which was curious because I also had my first reunion with the California coast in years. The ocean always makes me happy. Not today. I think the reunion caused me to grieve a little. My thoughts ranged from remembering the excitement of moving to the Bay Area in 1994 (lost youth?), to thoughts of my late father in law who was a dear man. He called religiously every Saturday morning while we lived in California just to check in. He would not be calling today. I'm missing him. Finally, I was realizing that school was beginning next week and I would not be joining my wonderful former colleagues for the trials and triumphs of another year at John Burroughs School. Fortunately, when I shared this with Melisse, she understood, gave me
Melisse and Ruby GMelisse and Ruby GMelisse and Ruby G

Lovely camp spot on the coast
a hug and said, "We're on vacation Dave." I believe this mood will evaporate quickly.


Advertisement



4th September 2009

Hang in there, buddy!
Pancho, We miss you here! In my mind, there will always be a great flavor missing from this place without you... Buoy yourself with the following thought -- you will be growing and learning more in the coming year than any of us here. Sally forth Young Quijote and smite some windmills! Un abrazo muy fuerte, Pedro
8th September 2009

Sometimes it\
Hi, I have been following your blogs and I just wanted you to know that I really have enjoyed reading about your travels. Jealousy has set in because of envy. I was supposed to be retired this year and doing all the things you and Melisse are doing but this crappy economy made me stay here another year. The start of school, for me, was chaotic at best. But with the reality that everything I do is for the"last" time I felt a little better about being here. Keep up the great posts and know there are a bunch of us following you. My best to you and Melisse. Barb Dailey
29th September 2009

i've been thinking about you three and suddenly remembered this travel log! forgive me for not checking in sooner! i think the sadness makes perfect sense. and i have a feeling it must have passed quickly. sending xxx from western mass.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb