Why do Mosquitos Buzz in Peoples Ears


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Crater Lake
July 7th 2010
Published: July 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

July 7, 2010
I am in the car, on my way to San Fransisco! I am so excited for Jen and Stew’s wedding. It will also be nice to see my brother and Vish, and of course Stewart and Jen. I know this is going to be a super fun weekend, however, first I have to deal with some minor appearance issues. Mainly my dirty dirty feet. All this camping and car driving, is not good for ones appearance or feet.

Crater Lake was beautiful. You need to check out the pictures. The roads were still snow covered in the southeast part of the park, so we weren’t able to drive around the whole lake. There was snow at our campsite. There was also a mosquito party. Justin called it Mosquito Lake. It was a minor draw back to the Crater Lake experience. I tried to leave the dead ones around that I killed, so that the others would know what would happen to them if they kept buzzing near me, but nothing worked. We bathed in Deet, we took B12, and we fogged the whole campsite with a mosquito fogger. They still swarmed all around you. By nightfall, they were manageable and we were finally able to enjoy ourselves again.

We spent the day hiking down to the lake. Once down there, I layed on a rock with my feet in Crater Lake. The water was a brisk 40 degrees, it was also so blue and clear. We hung until around sunset, then headed back to the mosquito party to become dinner and cook dinner.

Like I said, by nightfall, the mosquitos had called it a day, and we could resume our evening campfire rituals of drinking kokanee and hanging out. Our neighbors couldn’t use their campfire pit, as it was covered in a foot of snow, so they joined our fire. Francine and Steve from Idaho. They were nice and they dispelled my RV judgement that those who have RV’s aren’t cool. I mean, they actually hung out by a campfire, something we haven’t seen RV people do this whole trip.

Pictures don’t do Crater Lake justice, but you can view it without the mosquitos biting you.
San Fransisco, here we come!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb