Day 13: Off to the Pacific Ocean


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Cannon Beach
August 6th 2009
Published: August 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning, it was still early. Regina is emailing, so I decided to go for a run. When I left the motel room, I was surprised how cold it was. Only 64 F in Hood River, OR. I ran anyway, although not too far. Quite a while later we went into town for breakfast and found a nice breakfasty place. Egg Florentine and a breakfast skillet. By the time we were done, it was already 10:30. But we had only a 2-3 hour drive ahead of us, so no big deal. We passed Portland and arrived (after a little cold sweat because I forgot to get gas, and we are in the middle of the mountains; but everything worked out fine) in Cannon Beach. Regina had booked us a Motel right at the beach. We checked into the motel after we strolled thru town. The room has no seaview, but is very spacious. Even in Cannon Beach we only have 65 degrees. So we put on some warm cloths and went for a long walk at the beach. I realized how spoiled I am from SC, I am literally freezing here. Why did the Pacific Northwest have the heat wave before I arrived? I want the 90 degree weather!!!! Anyway, we decided to sit at the beach a little bit, took our chairs, a bottle of wine and - they survived from the East Coast - a bag of boiled peanuts (the ones you heat in the microwave, not bad, but not quite as good as from the old guy on Folly Road).
Believe me, after that we were in a good mood. Went into town, had Thai food and a drink in another bar. Now we're back and are making plans for tomorrow. We will stay one more night in Portland and on Saturday on our way to Seattle. Honey, I'm coming!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb