Day 4 - No Driving and A Cold Round of Golf


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Bend
May 12th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sunriver Resort


I walked outside last night and I could hear the wolves howling. They seemed to be everywhere. The sky was clear and I could see millions of stars. The cool breeze felt really good...then I headed back in to sit by the fire. :-)

I awoke this morning and looked out the window. Did I mention it was going to be cold and windy today? I put on my long-johns and headed for the golf course. Crosswater Golf Club is the site of one of the Majors for the Champions Tour. I checked in at the Pro Shop, loaded up the rental clubs, and headed to the driving range. I knew immediately that I could not play with these clubs. The starter came over (I was the only person on the driving range) and we began to talk. I told him I did not like the Cobra rental clubs, especially the driver. He said, "I'll be right back." In a few minutes he returned with his own Titleist driver. He told me to hit it and see what I thought. I hit one ball and turned to him with a big grin on my face. He told me to take it with me and use it for the day. What a guy! Thank you, Bernie!

After receiving some local knowledge from Bernie on the first tee, I was ready to give it my best. Bernie talked me into playing the Championship tees. Hey, why not? It was 50 and the wind was howling! I did surprising well on the first four holes. Hey, this guy is pretty good! Not! Reality came in the form of hole #5, one of Crosswater's signature holes. Let's just say I was not longer one over par when I walked off the 5th green.

Despite the cold, howling winds, and my spotty play, I had a great time. The beauty of the golf course made it difficult to take the round very seriously (I say that because of my score on the 5th hole. Before that, I was VERY serious.)

Tomorrow, I have a relatively short drive to a log cabin I have rented at the foot of Mt. Hood. I will be there for three days. The cabin was built in the 1930's and sits on Lolo Pass, the very same Lolo Pass used by Lewis & Clark in their trek west.

Wayne's quote of the day, "If the starter at a golf course you have never seen tells you to play the Championship tees, the temperature is 50, and the winds are howling, tell him thank you and move up to the regular tees."




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

It's difficult to concentrate on golfIt's difficult to concentrate on golf
It's difficult to concentrate on golf

when the scenery is so breathtaking.


13th May 2009

Impressive
I know you don't want me to be envious, so I won't be...but I am. Great pictures, great writing, and it sounds like this trip is everything you were anticipating. Of course, you'll have to go through "re-indoctrination" to the Southern climate and culture when you return!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb