Snowboarding Sucks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Ashland
February 14th 2013
Published: June 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 42.1947, -122.708

We got up at 7am, and I think I slept maybe 4 hours. This is only an issue for us because we were working night shift at the time. So, we went into this experience exhausted. We got up early for the breakfast buffet (which actually really nice!) that the hotel offered. We carbed up for the impending workout. Then we drove up the mountain to the ski area. It was cloudy as heck down in the town, but clear blue skies high up above where the snow was. Chris was convinced he'd be a damn pro at snowboarding. I'd already been three other times in previous years and was quite content to never do it again. But I did it for Chris. Because he was sure he'd love it and would take to it quite easily. We took lessons with a bunch of other middle school aged kids milling around us. We were awful. Then we tried leafing down the bunny slope for a couple hours. We fell every time. My biggest problem is I get scared when I get going fast. Which causes me to lose my balance without fail. After those two hours, Chris was done. He and I both agreed we were too old, screw this, let's head back to Ashland and get some good food and drinks. And take a much needed nap.

That night we walked down the street to an amazing Indian food restaurant for dinner, called Taj. We also had a drink in a microbrewery that was really good but I can't remember the name. Anyway- damn good Indian food. We had zero Indian food restaurants where we were living at the time and this hit the sweet spot.



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb