Coinjock


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Corolla
October 26th 2009
Published: October 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Destination- Coinjock, NC
Departed from Portsmouth, Va at 7:30 AM
Arrived in Coinjock at 4:30 PM

Left in a line of boats. We all congregated at the Gilmerton Bridge in Norfolk, Va. Waited thirty minutes for it to open I counted 22 boats. We all left in a line until we stacked up again at bridges and locks. I think I heard the loud speaker at the locks say that there were 43 boats that had gone through before us and there were probably 20 in the locks when I went through. That was at Great Bridge, Va. From there it was a grueling ride for hours until it opened out into Coinjock Sound when the wind picked up to 25 knots. I put up the jib for a while and got 7 knots. Most of the day the motor was giving me about 6.1. The channel is just big enough for two boats to pass. I don't see how peopledo itwithout a chart plotter. If mine went out I would be lost. It is a little over 49 miles to Midway marina in Coinjock. I splurged the $51 for a tie up at the bulkhead and electricity. Met a nice couple that gave me good ancorage and weather advice. They live in Oriental NC and had taken their sailboat up to the Anapolis boat show.

Tomorrow I hope to be anchored a ways up the Allegator river. Wed may be stormy so I may spend a day at anchor.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb