Albamarle Sound and the Allegator River


Advertisement
Published: October 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Anchorage at Deep Point on the Alligator RiverAnchorage at Deep Point on the Alligator RiverAnchorage at Deep Point on the Alligator River

Anchorage in the Alligator River
Destination - Allegator River in NC
Departed Coinjock 8:00 AM
Arrived at Deep Point ancorage at 3:45PM

I was worried about crossing AlbamarleSound because of all the stories I have heard. It is basically a 16 foot deep ocean so when there is a strong south wind waves cankick up to 6 or 7 feet and slam boats around. When I started off there was a 15 knjot wind form the south. When I got into it the winds changed to almost west and the waves calmed down and it was not that unpleasant. I was making 6.1 with the motor and it took three hours to cross. The last quarter I unfulled the jib and was making almost 7knots. I ran aground at the mouth of the Allegator river by following my Chart Plotter which has never let me down. I found out that the channel has shifted since the software was issued. I was lucky though I got out easy and back in the channel. The weather was overcast all day and threatened rain but it never came.

I love my CharttPlotter (except for the one grounding), my autohelm and my my Dodger. In the sound and most of the Allegator I set the autohelm with the Chart Plotter and sat under the Dodger out of the wind and read charts.

Tomorrow or Thursday I hope to be in Belhaven NC. The weather is hard to tie down but htermay be thunderstorms and rain soI may just sit at anchor and get to Belhaven on Thursday.

Well, here is a problem I never thought I'd have. The whole boat is filled with mosquitoes. I had to close up and put the screens in. Starte spraying Deets. Must be a thousand of them.

Ok got to go swat these things. I'll try to get pictures and videos on when I get a chance.

Advertisement



5th November 2009

grounded
I think I told you about my trip with my dad sailing up from NC to Baltimore many moons ago. One of the strongest memories I have was running aground in the allegator river. It was a tough long day as we were hard aground and a full wind. We had to get the coast guard to pull us off! Glad you were not stuck that hard.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb