Manhatten New York city My Avon Walk Week end


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
October 22nd 2010
Published: October 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

My avon WalkMy avon WalkMy avon Walk

manhatten, sherton Hotel, event eve 15th. Left to rt. Tara, she signed me up for ABCWalk. Janet and me and another staff member
I HAVE EDITED MY ENTRY. PLEASE DISSREGARD LAST ENTRY.. THANKS. SORRY IF I AFFENDED ANYONE IN MY FIRST ENTERY...

Well folks the week end of the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer in New York city has passed. I do not think they found a cure that week end but all the funds raised are going to help find a cure and help many many women and men .
Thanks to all that helped and donated and donated thier time. The walk started on October 16th at 7AM. 26 miles first day. It started at peir 84. We walked all the way up to upper Manhatten then all the way down to down town and across the Brooklyn Bridge and then back across the east river over the Manhatten Bridge then up thru the east side to the north to Randalls Island. I used those gel like band aids on my little toes. any one walking, I highly recommend putting those band aids on before you walk. 2nd day 17th, 13 miles, we started at Randalls Island and crossed over east side , walked down Amsterdam and Columbus streets all the way to Chelsea meat market area and then back up
my Avon walk for Breast Cancermy Avon walk for Breast Cancermy Avon walk for Breast Cancer

Moo cow guy. He stands on the route and cheers the walkers as they go by. Janet, team leader of Loretta;'s Ladies and me
the Hudson River back to peir 84 for the closing ceramonies. Suzy Orman spoke and several others. Noel and Roxanne and Roberto and Sluka and friend Melodie were there to greet me. Any one thinking of doing the Avon Walk for breast Cancer, i say ,"jump and sign up and just do it." it was great. Met alot of nice people. I joined a team called Loretta's Ladies. all together, over $56,000 and still counting was raised with Loretta's Ladies Team. Over 9 million $$ for all for that week end was raised with nearly 5000 walkers. It was a great way to see Manhatten and discouver the city and all it has to offer. It's truely a wonderfull city to walk thru. For next year I have signed up to be part of the crew. I look forward to that. I was the 103rd person to sign up for crew on event eve.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

AWBCAWBC
AWBC

T-shirt. Names of survivors. The Pink names represents suvivors. For all those around the world you can see why Pink is a powerfull colour in the Month of October and thru out the year. They even put Pink lights on the George Washinton Bridge this year but they look purple when lighted. The mantinece man that works on the bridge, his sister is in remission now from breast Cancer. You can read the story of the lights on the GW Bridge in The Record Newspaper of New Jersey. October issue, second week I think.
AWBCAWBC
AWBC

Opening cerimonie, pier 84, 6:30AM the walk started at 7AM. The team I joined called Loretta's Ladies. named after Loretta whom was older then all of us and could out walk any of them, was affected by cancer, whom has passed on to heaven.
AWBC walkAWBC walk
AWBC walk

the walk begins
AVBC WalkAVBC Walk
AVBC Walk

Two ladies up front Barabra and Eva
AWBCAWBC
AWBC

Crew member's bike
AWBCAWBC
AWBC

Me et Nina walked 22 miles together of the 26 miles you walk on the first day. Nina is some one I met on a training walk.
AWBCAWBC
AWBC

Walking over the Brooklyn Bridge
AWBCAWBC
AWBC

I thought in my hay days as Yippie Hippie I was far out but these two take the cake.. they sure had some wild clothes and shoes on. After passing these two colurfull fellows I decided I had to leave Nina behind and try to catch Loretta's Ladies at the wellness center. The last 2 miles I jumped on a shuttle bus. still a chance to catch Loretta's Ladies Team at wellness center. The shuttle bus drivers got lost and takes 1 hr. to go two miles. I missed Loretta's Ladies at wellness center. the good thing about this walk is there are shuttle buses you can get in to catch up with your team or if your tired they can take you next rest area or to wellness center. You do want to get there before dark and set up your tent and eat and shower and see the entertainment and get a massage or medical attention. 26 miles is a long walk.
AWBCAWBC
AWBC

Crossing the East River over Manhatten Bridge
LauraLaura
Laura

Staff member Laura. Very nice young lady.
AWBC well ness center Randalls IslandAWBC well ness center Randalls Island
AWBC well ness center Randalls Island

Here is where you camp for the night. Everything you need . hot showers, bathrooms. You give your suit case on the saturday morning at before the walk starts and they take it to wellness center and you must put up your tent that they provide. Here they serve you dinner and can buy things in the Avon Walk shop and get a back rub etc., feet fixed up and medical team on hand. They have a little entertainment. lights out at 9PM. Non campers leave at 8:30PM. There are buses ( $20 transport fee) that take you back to city if staying in hotel. The buses pick you up in morning et bring you back to Randalls Island in morning to begin walk. I got on a bus to go back to city as I was staying with my friend in city. When I saw the purple lights on the GWB I jumped up and said," the bus driver is going the wrong way. He 's taking us to New Jersy instead of the Sherton hotlel in NYC." 1 hr later we finally get to Hotel drop off. I find Loretta's Ladies and say good night and head to my friends home via a cab. She only lives a few blocks away. Now the cab is going the wrong way. I said to the driver" where you going"? I said 35th and park Ave. he says'" I thought you siad Park Place."Which is way downtown.. I can't win.
AWBC rest stop day twoAWBC rest stop day two
AWBC rest stop day two

day two is 13 miles. Day two; those that are sleeping in city take the shuttle bus back to Randalls Island and has breakfast and the walk begins at 7:30. Walk over a foot bridge over east river and make your way over to Amsterdam street and head south to lower Manhatten.
AWBC day twoAWBC day two
AWBC day two

Rest stop lower manhatten
AWBC rest stopAWBC rest stop
AWBC rest stop

Flower made of paper . Each flower petal had a name on it.. reach inside the pot and there were flower seeds packets.
AWBCAWBC
AWBC

Closing cerimonies. Suzy Orman speaks and several other people. For those abroad that do not know Suzy; She has a TV talk show all about money issues etc. . a very smart woman and has really good information how to handle your money. She is a finiacial adviser.
AWBCAWBC
AWBC

Closing cerimonies. Again for those out there thinking of Walking in the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer, you can do it, The hardest part for me was raising the money you oblige yourself to raise. If you do not raise your goal you can go on the side lines and cheer the walkers in, be part of the crew. It's not the end of the world. It's really a great fund raising for a great cause and well worth it. If you did not raise all the funds you can charge your Credit Card and you still walk the walk and have two more months to raise what you were missing at time of walk. At the end of the two months period your card will be charged the difference. Or you can give up and are under no obligation. Like i said if you do not make your goal you can go on the side lines and cheer in the walkers or be part of the crew. On event eve you still have a chance to raise your goal. You can make a sign " NEED DONATIONS ". some people will bring donations that they can add to your goal at check in eve.
Janet et meJanet et me
Janet et me

Rest stop on day two of 13 mile walk. The hat did not look good on my head so I put it on my stick. I created the stick on day one and decorated it with stuff I found on the way..


22nd October 2010

Patricia, Wow+ That was a very long walk! The $56,000 you helped raise is terrific and it will help lead to a cure. The band aid idea was pretty clever. Jim
23rd October 2010

AWBC
Well I raised $1,930. I think Janet raised the most.. Over the past 9 years Janet has raised over a $100.000 for a cure. janet is the team leader.
3rd November 2010

Thanks
I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for doing this race. I have been one of the lucky ones to have survived this cancer.Sounds like you made a lot of new friends.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb