The Pre-Packing Jitters


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Rochester
September 1st 2009
Published: August 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It is officially September 1st, 2009, which means that I have 15 days before I leave for England. Two weeks, one day. I know that I will be fine once I settle in. I consider myself to be fairly independent, and I do a lot of things on my own. Heck, I have mastered going to the movie theater alone... on date night! So what's going to another country for 4 months? Nothing!

Pissshhh.

No, but seriously, I know things will be great. I am freakin' excited to share a house with 11 other people from around the world. My love for international students will be definitely satisfied. Am I excited for homework? Definitely not, but I am very curious about what classes will be like. Two major differences from my college:



I will also be walking and/or taking the bus to school every day, which is a 2.2 mile journey. I haven't figured out if I am looking forward to that or not. Being the silly girl that I am, I figured out the equi-distance here in Rochester. It seems lonnnnnnnnnnng. My first week, I will be collapsing in my classes, konked out on the person next to me. Or, I will lock myself in my room when I return and my neighbors might think I am in a coma. Nah, it won't be THAT bad.

So what's worrying me? THE FREAKIN' PACKING. I thought packing clothes for 4 months would be the issue, but that problem was easily solved: just pack everything you wear and squish it all in. No, the difficult part is packing for LIVING in the UK for 4 months. I have debated whether or not I should bring cooking supplies, bed supplies, shower totes, how many SHOES I bring. Seriously, shoes will kill me. Then I have to pack COATS. It is very difficult thinking about coats when it is still t-shirt weather.

I know, I know, I have the option to buy a lot of the hoopla when I get to Leeds, but the exchange rate has practically given me an ulcer. Not only do I have to watch what I spend because I don't know if I'll be working there, but I'm also on a tight budget because the U.S. Dollar is about half as much as the British Pound. I am preparing myself to pay the equivalent of $5.00 for a freakin' onion. Oye vey, I sometimes amaze myself for 2 reasons:



... And returning back from that digression... I have almost finished venting, I promise. The other stuff that is mulling over in my brain is all of the official document stuff. I still don't have my Visa yet. I still have some time to get it, but I just hope there aren't any issues. I also have no idea what my class schedule is like, nor what my e-mail and password are. Those last 2 things are freakin' important. You need them for everything (i.e. getting your schedule, uploading your ID photo).

But alas, I stay focused and continue to try to fish this information out of people. I've started my lists for packing and for what else I need to buy. It's just a matter of time. With all of my upcoming pre-departure appointments, I have a feeling that these next 2 weeks will go by really fast. I better fasten my belt.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb