So I was mistaken: Part 2 addition


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Rochester
August 20th 2009
Published: August 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Irish scenery 29 secs
2: Irish coast 23 secs

1 additional video(s) currently being processed
OK, remember how I said, “I hope I didn’t forget anything!” (or something like that)? Well, I did… 3 things as a matter of fact. I will try to explain them in the most efficiently as possible since I just wrote that epic entry.


* On the list of stuff that I learned/did, I forgot to include that TWICE I helped with cooking a meal for 15 people. I love cooking dinner, but never in my life have I had to cook for that large of a party. I’ve also never had to cook lamb or a big leg of pork. That was definitely a unique experience. Oh, and speaking of lamb, I just reminded myself of another thing (making it 4 things I forgot, instead of 3).

* I had lamb for the first time, and I also tried snails. I tried to experience as much as possible, but I drew the line at trying rabbit, seeing as I have previously owned 3 as pets. I don’t judge anyone for liking the animal as food, but all I could think about was Abby, Todd, and Jeremiah.

* My last day in Ireland, Francy took Anna, Anne and me to see his ponies. He promised me this from the moment I told him that I owned horses and LOVED horses. I wondered if he would actually take us, and sure enough he surprised us with a visit on Sunday and told us to get ready to go. He drove us to this random field, and when we arrived, we still had to hike for about a half hour to find them. All I can say is that they are GORGEOUS. It was the perfect end to my trip. He named his first 2 ponies (Sprit the stallion, and Puka the mare… Puka is Irish for fairy). After that he stopped naming them, and now there are about 12 ponies, which are all results of Puka and Spirit, or Spirit and some of his babies. Yes, incest. My thoughts exactly. Besides the creepiness of that, whoever made the babies did a fantastic job. They were breathtaking. I still have to add the pictures. I named one of the ponies Bridget. She was the only one that didn’t act like a wild horse because she was all over us. Then there was a mule-donkey mix that was 29 years old. He let us pet him and cuddled in our chests. I named him Dibello. Don’t ask me why Dibello because I just thought he looked like one. I love naming things.

* The last moment occurred on my way home and started when I was in the London Heathrow airport. I received the U.S. Customs card that I had to fill out before I entered the States. It asked me how many gifts I was bringing back and how much they cost in USD. I was freaking out because everything was priced in euros. THEN, I was asked if I had been on a farm. Yes. Have I touched livestock? Another yes. Freak out moment #2 occurred when I was anticipating a quarantine. I called up my dad in a panic. My mom hadn’t answered and I was truly thinking I might go to jail. Once again, don’t ask me why. It was a moment when I felt immensely guilty when I know I had done nothing wrong. When I arrived in the States, this is what happened: I approached the desk with my palms all clammy, yet trying to appear calm. The guard only glanced at my passport and Customs card and stamped it, but he walked away right after. I said to myself, “Oh, here goes. Time for the interrogation! He’s going to ask me if I have the Swine Flu!” Five minutes later he returns and asks me why I didn’t leave. I tell him that I didn’t know I could. He replies, “Oh yeah! I told you that you could! I mean, you could hang around here and talk to me if you want.” I declined gracefully, finally took a breath, and made my way out of the JFK airport. All of that hype and worry for nothing. Yes, I learned my lesson not to spazz out… well, sort of.


OK, so I definitely lied about keeping things efficient, but this really should be it! I won’t promise because there is a chance that I might break it. So I will promise that I will try not to randomly think of more stuff… unless I have requests.


Additional photos below
Photos: 52, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb