New York, New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
May 14th 2012
Published: May 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My first day as a tourist in the big city and I am proud of the progress I have made.

Wringed up and thoroughly used after a red eye out of slc, I was at first overwhelmed by the city. This has been remedied though by a metro ride to nowhere, a lot of nerdy tourists (big time nerds that we all become when in a new, amazing place) and the complete awesomeness of New Yorkers have all helped to make this day a success.

First up, two sites I have had on my to be visitEd list for years; the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island. Lady Liberty was closed due to construction, but it was a great visit none the less. She is a lot smaller than I imagined! Ellis island was interesting as well and I may have had relatives pass throughthe island to be processed for American citizenship!

Then on to the museum of the American Indian, that bull you always see in the movies and though I wasn't able to get into the 9/11 memorial, I did see the site and visit the welcome center. When it happened i was back home working as a janitor at one of the minesites, far away, and yet we as a family and as a community were devastated. Being here, seeing the sites of those images in a different context, really had a profound impact on me today.

One note about NYC, there is public art absolutely everywhere; the building facades, bathroom doors, even the sidewalks are given interest when historic dates are written in them. My hostel is def a no-frills establishment and not having been in the area before I can't establish if this is a one or a five on the complete dump-o-meter. I do have a private room with a shared bathroom and shower. Though seriously, theshower stall is about a 4x2 space! Not much for a fat girl to move around in. Between the sound of traffic, people and intermittent blasts of opera though, this is a pretty good place to be!



Ps: I can't seem to upload images on this connection, will try later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb