Day 3 - New York City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
July 1st 2013
Published: July 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Macy's Department StoreMacy's Department StoreMacy's Department Store

Macy's Department Store
I spent most of the day traveling around New York on my own as Fi had to go into work. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great as it was raining so I had to change a few plans, luckily it was light rain so I didnt need to get my waterproof coat out as it was really muggy.

I started off at Macy's department store. I walked around a few floors and looked at the men's clothing before getting bored, but at least I can say I've been there.

I then walked up 5th Avenue to the New York Library. 5th Avenue is fantasic for shopping as it has so many shops, there are quite a lot of brands that we have back in the UK. The designer clothes are the same amounts as UK but as It's in US Dollars it works out cheaper. Anyway the New York Library is definitely worth a visit for It's great architecture and amazing paintings.

After the library I headed up to Grand Central, again great architecture, was good to feel the atmosphere of a busy train station and to see the building that I've seen in so many famous photos/paintings.
Fifth AvenueFifth AvenueFifth Avenue

Fifth Avenue

I then walked along past the United Nations headquarters and popped into a pub called the Manchester Pub where I had the amazing nachos with steak and I also got to watch the Djokovic vs Haas tennis match.

After eating at the pub I went to St Patrick's Cathedral. It's currently undergoing refurbishment, however I was completely taken back with It's fantastic architecture. There was a service going on and hymns were being sang, so I took 5 minutes out and just sat there and relaxed. I am not a very religious person but I lit a candle for all the people close to me who have passed away, particularly for my two Nan's who both died towards the end of last year, it actually choked me a little, so I then left.

I then did some shopping down 5th Avenue and went to the famous toy shop FAO Schwarz and saw the big piano which is apparently in a Tom Hanks movie - I need to see this film when I get back home. I also stocked up on M&M's that you can't get back in England. I also went into an electronics shop and got ripped
New York LibraryNew York LibraryNew York Library

New York Library
off (pricewise) for a plug adaptor which doesnt even work!!

In the evening I met up with Fi and her friend Sophie and we tried to go to a comedy club, but they were sold out so we ended the night in a bar drinking Buds.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Grand Central StationGrand Central Station
Grand Central Station

Grand Central Station
Sweet heavenSweet heaven
Sweet heaven

Sweets in FAO Schwarz


Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 33; qc: 132; dbt: 0.1351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb