I LOVE NEW YORK!!


Advertisement
Published: May 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Fueling-up for my drive to NYC - both petrol and coffee!
Hey!

So, Sunday, I got up at 0630, in order to leave at 0730 for the train station at Wassaic, New York State. I drove there - didn't realise how close we are to the New York State border, and when I got to the station, I learnt very quickly that it's not just us in the UK who are victim to the 'Sunday rail-replacement bus service due to engineering works'. The bus wasn't due for ages, so I decided 'to hell with it - I'll be brave and DRIVE to NYC!'.

Having programmed a random address in Brooklyn (something like 16 5th Avenue!) into the SatNav, I set off. Stopped at a gas station to fill up with petrol and coffee and then drove the two and a bit hours on the interstate - quite a scary, but exhilarating experience. Watching Manhatten appear on the horizon was magical!

Parked up in Brooklyn, at a metro station called 'Atlantic Avenue' - quite a dodgy area it seems! Surfacing in mid-Manhatten was fantastic - like seeing an old friend again. I'll let the pictures attached tell most of the story of how I spent my time there, but I'll

On the interstate - you can see Manhatten in the background - I was very excited at this point!
add that it was a great day!

Getting back to my car on the subway was awful - turns out there are two Atlantic Avenues in NYC - one in Manhatten, and one in Brooklyn. Eventually, after about ten attempts, I found my car (still in one piece)! Drove back to my place and was shattered - slept really well and back in work today - great day!

I'm planning on Boston next weekend......

Hope all's well in UK



Bye for now!

Jonny


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Atlantic Ave. Metro Station - Brooklyn


On the NY subway!


Hello again Manhatten, my old friend - I've missed you! x


First coffee in New York! - I needed this!


Empire State Building!


Grand Central Terminal and Empire State Building


The Met Life building (behind Grand Central) used to be the iconic PanAm building!!!!


Inside Grand Central Terminal


Central Park


Last coffee in Manhatten, with my book - 'Psychodynamic Psychiatry in Clinical Practice' - this is how I want to work!


7th May 2013

New York New York (Atlantic Avenue! Atlantic Avenue! )
Jon, this is fantastic. Love the pics ... and your comments!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb