Friday NYC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
October 12th 2012
Published: October 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Friday morning our class went to the International Radio/TV Society to meet the CEO and President Joyce Tudryn. We started the conversation telling a little bit about ourselves and we also had to name something weird about ourselves. My weird thing was that I clean a lot especially when I am procrastinating something such as this blog! 😉

She mainly emphasized the need for connections in our field. She informed us about what it is she does. Joyce helps young media leaders build connections.

She let us know about a fellowship internship that happens in the summer. The deadline to apply for this internship is December 1st. The internship is next summer and would last 2 months. Through this you would meet tons of people and build connections. Housing and food money is provided and it is an opportunity of a lifetime. 20-30 people get chosen every year for this internship.

Joyce also informed us that we NEED to be on social networking sites such as: Facebook, Twitter, and Linked in. She also informed us about keeping track of your Klout score. Klout basically keeps track of your influence in the social networking world.

At the IRTS, if you looked out the window you could see the David Letterman show which is kind of neat!

After that everyone ate a group meal at Angelo's Pizzeria! I had spaghetti and meatballs! It was actually pretty tasty!

Shortly after, we all headed to the Museum of Radio and Television which is known as the PaleyCenter for Media. I found the little seminar pretty interesting. We looked at different political advertisements and dissected them. I noticed that in the really old advertisements from a long time ago had more class than today’s advertisements. It is hard to believe there was a time where a politician didn't bash his opponent in an advertisement.

The whole group decided to either meet up for dinner at 5 or meet at 7:15 to go to the Broadway Show! Me and Kacey accidentally fell asleep and woke up at 7:10. We were like fast moving robots getting ready so we weren't late! My description of myself at the Broadway was: Having bedhead while wearing a very nice dress!

Before we went to the show we were at the hotel bar. I ordered myself a Cosmo which ended up being 16 dollars! I tipped so it was 18! Aye yi yi! Anyways we walked to the show from our hotel. On the way to the show we walked by the New York Public Library! It was amazing and big! I definitely took a bunch of pictures of that!

We finally arrived at the show. The line moved by so fast. The Broadway show we were going to see was called, "Newsies"! I loved it!!! The songs were stuck in my head days after. That was definitely an awesome experience I won't forget!


After Newsies Kacey and I decided to go eat cheesecake instead of going to a bar! After that we walked around some more and went into Grand Central Station. That is the most beautiful place ever! It made me want to take a train somewhere!

We then ended up walking really far away from the hotel on accident and got to the TrumpTower! We also saw BerkleyCollege. I think we were only a few blocks away from NYU! I would have loved to see that place!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb