Empire State of mind


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
December 18th 2010
Published: December 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I horded NYC impressions today by doing Times Square, The Met, Harlem, Central Park, 5th Ave and loads of walking. It's huge but still packed with people everywhere. Taking the subway at 4:30pm is almost not an option- got smashed in the doors twice.

The hotel's OK, it's located just 1 minute walk from Union Square. Got here yesterday afternoon after being stuck in traffic for an hour and a half, in the cab from the airport. Apparently I've exceeded my 100lbs weight limit already so I'm kinda clueless as to how I'm gonna get everything home on Tuesday. The flight here was fortunately only 4,5 hours long and I tried to sleep during most of it since my plan to go to bed early on Thursday night failed miserably. Mine and Evan's plan of making it an early night with an even earlier dinner was abruptly changed as we in last minute decided to make my last night in Portland a grand finale, by going out dancing at CC's- I barely made it back to the hotel to pack before I left for the airport at 4am again. But since it was my last night in Portland, and last night in the US among friends, I figured not sleeping for 38 hours was worth it. A lot.

Tonight I'm trying out going to the movied by myself. I usually do cities, and vacation in general, pretty good on my own but it still feels a bit weird being by yourself in this huge city.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb